Well, here is the issue. Either Serena didn't respect Justine's request and thus didn't deserve an additional serve, or she did honor Justine's request and Justine used low-end gamesmanship to face a second serve.Rocketta said:Well I saw it the first time and Serena saw Justin's hand up way before she made contact but she was in her service motion so she finished her serve but immediately looked at the umpire and asked for another first serve. What does it matter if Serena saw it or not. Justine knew she asked for time so if asked she should've said so?
Serena didn't win that game! It doesn't matter in the sense of the match because Serena clearly stated the match didn't depend on that one incident and it didn't. Now if this is a discussion about whether Justine is a poor sportman well then it does matter, I guess. If Serena had won that game she would've been up 5-2, she was never up 5-2 in the third.Lelu said:But Serena won that game, anyway. Are we here to judge Justine's sportsmanship? If I were Justine and saw that Serena served despite me raising my hand and then she was trying to get a re-serve because her ploy didn't work, I'd be really pissed off. The truth might as well be that Serena DID serve despite seeing Justine's hand up to get an easy point.