Tennis Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
there is something I have been wanting to ask for a long time. I want to start by saying I don't want to hurt anyone's feelings, I just noticed there are a lot of steffi fans here, and there is something I want to understand about her.
I'm pretty new to tennis, about 2 years, so I didn't get to see too much of her. I am, however, a big Monica fan. when I was just starting to get interested in tennis, I looked for stuff about monica on line, and found out something that made me dislike Steffi. it had to do with monica's stabbing. after monica was stabbed, before anyone knew how badly it would affect her, the wta was asked to save her no.1 spot. the doctors said she would only take 2-3 weeks to recover, and the wta put this to a vote. all the top 20 players voted, every single one of them voted "no". I think it was terrible of them to do that. monica was attacked on a tennis court, by a tennis fan, while playing tennis it's not like she hurt her leg skiing or anything! but the worst was that steffi voted no. now, I don't blame steffi for the stabbing, no way. but if a mad man stabbed my main rival, for the expressed goal of removing her from the no.1 spot, and making sure I got there, I would have the decency to at least vote in favour of my rival keeping her no.1 spot for 2 miserable weeks. steffi voted "no", and as a result that man got just what he wanted- monica out, and steffi as no.1.
did anybody else hear this story? how can anyone know this, and still like steffi? I just don't understand.

·
Registered
25,495 Posts
I am also Monica's fans and I understand how you feel and shared some of your views but this Monica-Steffi debate had happened many many times in the old WTA message board and lead to many fights and unhappy feelings, may be you should let it go, just my opinion.

by the way, we have a Selestials forum here, please join :D and welcome abroad :D

·
Registered