Tennis Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Adrenaline junkie
Joined
·
23,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are regulations about situation when a player makes one swing at ball, but mishits it so the surface of his racquet actually touches the ball twice. My hitting partner does it all the time, the trajectory of the ball is quitey OK but the spin, and therefore bounce, are very unpredictable, I am missing in at least 50% shots off that kind of bounce.. Can anyone refer the actual ruling about that?

[ November 07, 2001: Message edited by: ys ]</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,719 Posts
Sorry ys,<br />As long as the person makes one swing and does not hit the ball with two swings it is a fair ball, it is almost the same thing as a mishit of the frame, in which the ball hit the frame and has a wicked bounce. I do that sometimes on my backhand return on a hard serve, and usually win most of the points. Hey you paid for the entire racquet strings, frame and all use them.
 

·
Adrenaline junkie
Joined
·
23,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks.

Sometimes, it even looks like it is not actually two contacts, but perhaps more of those, and it looks almost like throwing a ball with a racquet, rather than hitting it.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top