Tennis Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Each year, the ITF publishes a 10 question exam that every ITF certified official has to complete and return by April 1. These questions deal with professional tennis. Some of the questions involve rule changes and they are making sure that we have read the new rulebooks at the beginning of the year. Some involve incidents that occurred in the previous year and they want to make sure we know how to handle these situations going forward. Alot of them just require sensible thinking. Give them a try. These are not situations that normally happen at club tournaments and friendly matches, but ATP/Grand Slam/ITF Circuit and WTA tournaments. Have fun.



1. You are the chair umpire and realize at 3-2, 30-0 that the players did not change ends at 3-2. You tell them to change ends immediately, but can they have a 90 second break as they pass the chair.


A. Yes
B. No


2. In Davis Cup or Fed Cup play, one of the captains shouts out loudly as the opposing player is about to hit the ball causing them to miss. Should you?


A. Call a hindrance, award the point to the opposing team and issue a Captain's Warning.
B. Call an inadvertent hindrance and replay the point.
C. Let the point stand and caution the captain.


3. After losing a point a player rips his shirt in anger causing it to be un-wearable. You issue a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct. He goes to his chair and finds he does not have another. Should you?


A. Allow him reasonable time to fetch another shirt under "equipment out of adjustment."
B. Allow him to go on his own time and issue Codes for Delay of Game as required.
C. Tell him to wear a warm up top and arrange for another shirt to be brought to the court.


4. In a WTA match a player has used one of her two toilet breaks. At 2-4 in the final set she asks to go to the toilet before her opponent's serve. Should you:


A. Allow the toilet break after asking for and gaining assurance from her that it is indeed necessary.
B. Allow the toilet break but only after one more game before her own serve.
C. Allow her to go but on her own time and issue code violations for delay of game as necessary.
D. Do not allow the toilet break.


5. During a medical time out you suddenly notice that the trainer is now treating a different part of the body to that he started on. Do you:


A. Advise the trainer that he must stop immediately and announce "Treatment complete."
B. Ask the trainer what is happening and tell him to either treat toe original injury or stop treatment.
C. Allow the treatment to continue and countdown the time in the usual way.


6. You are the chair umpire in a doubles match with no Line Umpires. During a rally a ball lands close to the baseline and you are blocked by the partner of the player hitting the ball (Team A). The player half heartedly plays the ball and looks to you to make a call. You "FEEL" it may have been out. What is your decision?


A. Do nothing, the rally continues.
B. Call out and award the point to Team A
C. Cal a let and replay the point as you were unsighted.


7. At a Grand Slam Men's match, the two commercial identification logos permitted on the sleeves of a shirt, neither exceeding 3 square inches, may be placed on the front of the shirt if it is sleeveless:


A. True
B. False


8. In a match with no ballkids, player A serves a first serve into the net, after which the ball rolls back 2 metres and stops in the centre of the court. The player decides not to remove it and serves a second serve. During the rally, the ball starts to roll towards the baseline because of the wind. Player A stops play, claiming that the ball hinders him. What is your decision?


A. Let - replay the point
B. Let - second serve
C. Let - replay the point and advise the player that he is responsible for the balls on his side of the net and he will lose the point if it happens again.
D. Player A loses the point.


9. There is a disagreement regarding the number of challenges remaining in a set for a player. Who has the final authority in this situation?


A. The chair umpire
B. The review official
C. The supervisor


10. At a WTA event, coaching is allowed during matches at certain designated times. When the coach comes on to court are they allowed to have oversized logos on their clothing?


A. Yes
B. No
 

·
Chip 'n Charge
Joined
·
13,691 Posts
Each year, the ITF publishes a 10 question exam that every ITF certified official has to complete and return by April 1. These questions deal with professional tennis. Some of the questions involve rule changes and they are making sure that we have read the new rulebooks at the beginning of the year. Some involve incidents that occurred in the previous year and they want to make sure we know how to handle these situations going forward. Alot of them just require sensible thinking. Give them a try. These are not situations that normally happen at club tournaments and friendly matches, but ATP/Grand Slam/ITF Circuit and WTA tournaments. Have fun.

red are my answers :)

1. You are the chair umpire and realize at 3-2, 30-0 that the players did not change ends at 3-2. You tell them to change ends immediately, but can they have a 90 second break as they pass the chair.


A. Yes
B. No
because it is in the middle of a game. and you aren't supposed to drink between points, even though its a changeover. they need to just switch and resume with no stops at their stations :p

2. In Davis Cup or Fed Cup play, one of the captains shouts out loudly as the opposing player is about to hit the ball causing them to miss. Should you?


A. Call a hindrance, award the point to the opposing team and issue a Captain's Warning.
B. Call an inadvertent hindrance and replay the point.
C. Let the point stand and caution the captain.:help:.
my reasoning: during peer/sharapova fed cup, the whole crowd was mimicing her shrieks everytime she was about to hit. and the points just went on, without any replay. but i don't know if same applies to the captain. :lol:


3. After losing a point a player rips his shirt in anger causing it to be un-wearable. You issue a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct. He goes to his chair and finds he does not have another. Should you?


A. Allow him reasonable time to fetch another shirt under "equipment out of adjustment."

B. Allow him to go on his own time and issue Codes for Delay of Game as required.
C. Tell him to wear a warm up top and arrange for another shirt to be brought to the court.
not sure. the other's seem kinda wierd to me.

4. In a WTA match a player has used one of her two toilet breaks. At 2-4 in the final set she asks to go to the toilet before her opponent's serve. Should you:


A. Allow the toilet break after asking for and gaining assurance from her that it is indeed necessary.

B. Allow the toilet break but only after one more game before her own serve.
C. Allow her to go but on her own time and issue code violations for delay of game as necessary.
D. Do not allow the toilet break.
i don't see why not

5. During a medical time out you suddenly notice that the trainer is now treating a different part of the body to that he started on. Do you:


A. Advise the trainer that he must stop immediately and announce "Treatment complete."
B. Ask the trainer what is happening and tell him to either treat toe original injury or stop treatment.
C. Allow the treatment to continue and countdown the time in the usual way.
only one body part. i would consider it cheating, because they're taking advantage of the situation

6. You are the chair umpire in a doubles match with no Line Umpires. During a rally a ball lands close to the baseline and you are blocked by the partner of the player hitting the ball (Team A). The player half heartedly plays the ball and looks to you to make a call. You "FEEL" it may have been out. What is your decision?


A. Do nothing, the rally continues.
B. Call out and award the point to Team A
C. Cal a let and replay the point as you were unsighted.
you shouldn't make unsure calls that can cost a team games.

7. At a Grand Slam Men's match, the two commercial identification logos permitted on the sleeves of a shirt, neither exceeding 3 square inches, may be placed on the front of the shirt if it is sleeveless:


A. True
B. False
i didn't even know they had rules for this. i didn't even know the umpire's are in charge of enforcing this either.


8. In a match with no ballkids, player A serves a first serve into the net, after which the ball rolls back 2 metres and stops in the centre of the court. The player decides not to remove it and serves a second serve. During the rally, the ball starts to roll towards the baseline because of the wind. Player A stops play, claiming that the ball hinders him. What is your decision?


A. Let - replay the point
B. Let - second serve
C. Let - replay the point and advise the player that he is responsible for the balls on his side of the net and he will lose the point if it happens again.
D. Player A loses the point.
that's what i would do atleast


9. There is a disagreement regarding the number of challenges remaining in a set for a player. Who has the final authority in this situation?


A. The chair umpire
B. The review official
C. The supervisor
clueless. but that's what i would've guess. because the chair umpire might be wrong, and the supervisor is too high ranked to be bother with that.


10. At a WTA event, coaching is allowed during matches at certain designated times. When the coach comes on to court are they allowed to have oversized logos on their clothing?


A. Yes
B. No
i'm pretty sure. because they're not the player. they're just a coach.
:scratch:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,720 Posts
ArturoAce. said:
9. There is a disagreement regarding the number of challenges remaining in a set for a player. Who has the final authority in this situation?


A. The chair umpire
B. The review official
C. The supervisor
clueless. but that's what i would've guess. because the chair umpire might be wrong, and the supervisor is too high ranked to be bother with that
I watched some match on ATP where was that problem and chair umpire had final authority. he was saying" on my responsibility" he have 3 challengles but he had two:scratch:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In general, the answers were pretty good. Some of these answers are not cut and dry. I will explain what I mean on the few that will create a lot of discussion between the umpires.


1. You are the chair umpire and realize at 3-2, 30-0 that the players did not change ends at 3-2. You tell them to change ends immediately, but can they have a 90 second break as they pass the chair.

A. Yes
B. No

2. In Davis Cup or Fed Cup play, one of the captains shouts out loudly as the opposing player is about to hit the ball causing them to miss. Should you?

A. Call a hindrance, award the point to the opposing team and issue a Captain's Warning.
B. Call an inadvertent hindrance and replay the point.
C. Let the point stand and caution the captain.

3. After losing a point a player rips his shirt in anger causing it to be un-wearable. You issue a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct. He goes to his chair and finds he does not have another. Should you?

A. Allow him reasonable time to fetch another shirt under "equipment out of adjustment."
B. Allow him to go on his own time and issue Codes for Delay of Game as required.
C. Tell him to wear a warm up top and arrange for another shirt to be brought to the court.

C can be used if the player has a warm-up top that conforms to the logo requirements in the rules. If not, then B would be used.

4. In a WTA match a player has used one of her two toilet breaks. At 2-4 in the final set she asks to go to the toilet before her opponent's serve. Should you:

A. Allow the toilet break after asking for and gaining assurance from her that it is indeed necessary.
B. Allow the toilet break but only after one more game before her own serve.
C. Allow her to go but on her own time and issue code violations for delay of game as necessary.
D. Do not allow the toilet break.
This is a new rule this year. If it is an emergency, she can go, but on her own time. If it is not an emergency, then she has to go before her serve.

5. During a medical time out you suddenly notice that the trainer is now treating a different part of the body to that he started on. Do you:

A. Advise the trainer that he must stop immediately and announce "Treatment complete."
B. Ask the trainer what is happening and tell him to either treat toe original injury or stop treatment.
C. Allow the treatment to continue and countdown the time in the usual way.

6. You are the chair umpire in a doubles match with no Line Umpires. During a rally a ball lands close to the baseline and you are blocked by the partner of the player hitting the ball (Team A). The player half heartedly plays the ball and looks to you to make a call. You "FEEL" it may have been out. What is your decision?

A. Do nothing, the rally continues.
B. Call out and award the point to Team A
C. Cal a let and replay the point as you were unsighted.
You can't guess just because you feel that it may have been out. However, they also don't want us to call a let every time you are blocked when it is obvious that it was in. So, if the players look like they doubt it at all, call a let immediately. It's a tough call, because it makes it look like you put a bit of responsibility on the players to react, but you don't want to call a let if it was 2 feet in and you didn't see it.

7. At a Grand Slam Men's match, the two commercial identification logos permitted on the sleeves of a shirt, neither exceeding 3 square inches, may be placed on the front of the shirt if it is sleeveless:

A. True
B. False

8. In a match with no ballkids, player A serves a first serve into the net, after which the ball rolls back 2 metres and stops in the centre of the court. The player decides not to remove it and serves a second serve. During the rally, the ball starts to roll towards the baseline because of the wind. Player A stops play, claiming that the ball hinders him. What is your decision?

A. Let - replay the point
B. Let - second serve
C. Let - replay the point and advise the player that he is responsible for the balls on his side of the net and he will lose the point if it happens again.
D. Player A loses the point.

By the rules, D would usually be the right answer, but if it's a futures (usually where there are no ballkids), it wouldn't be wrong necessarily to go with C.

9. There is a disagreement regarding the number of challenges remaining in a set for a player. Who has the final authority in this situation?

A. The chair umpire
B. The review official
C. The supervisor
Also a new rule this year, mainly made because of the Roddick vs. Tsonga incident in Paris last year.

10. At a WTA event, coaching is allowed during matches at certain designated times. When the coach comes on to court are they allowed to have oversized logos on their clothing?

A. Yes
B. No
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top