Tennis Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
1,735 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read a statistic recently that the legal profession has the highest level of attrition (people leaving to do other things) because of unhappiness of any profession in the United States. I don't know if it applies to other countries.

If this is true, why did you choose to become a lawyer?

·
Registered
3,421 Posts
hi:). I'm a lawyer, and I live in Israel. our Justice system, like the American one, derives from the british system, so the roles of lawyers are quite similar (the role of a lawyer is quite different in continental Europe), and I'm pretty sure we have the same statistics of people leaving the profession.
I think there are a number of reasons for that. first and formost, it's a highly competitive and a very demanding line of work. if you are a lawyer in the private sector (law firms) you work simply crazy hours. I'm pretty sure it's worse than almost any other line of work. second, people come into this profession with all sorts of unrealistic perceptions of what being a lawyer is, based on what they see in movies and television. people watch "the practice" and think "gosh, it's so exciting". the actual work is quite different. the third reason, and this is a good thing, not a bad thing, is that sometimes people study law as a starting point for something else. a legal education is always valueble, and law school is about so much more than just law. it's about philosophy, economics, politics etc. it's a challenging and thought provoking degree, which prepares you for more than just lawyering. if you look at Washington D.C., for example (and it's the same in Israel), almost all the politicians, lobbyists, etc. started out as lawyers. so people go to law school, work as lawyers for a bit, and then move on to other things, using their legal background. it's what I'm doing:).