Tennis Forum banner

21 - 40 of 136 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31,162 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Sounded like "pute" to me?
I hear "pute" too, although Ostapenko said "Sorry" right after and Cornut quickly said "it's okay" and then seemed to even be laughing a little.
 

·
Always and forever.
Joined
·
33,715 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

she didn't call her a bitch in French, she said "putain", which means whore, yes, but is not used in that sense: in fact it's a common bad word in France, the equivalent of "fuck" as an exclamation (not as a verb, insult, etc.). Examples:
Putain ! J’en ai marre ! = Fuck! I’m sick of this!
Putain! Nous avons gagné! = Well, fuck! We won!
No, she CLEARLY said "la pute". I don't blame her though.

Sounded like "pute" to me?
Yep
 

·
Team WTAworld, Senior Member
Joined
·
64,637 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

How do we know she didn't apologize? The camera cuts to Martic and Ostapenko actually looks like she might be apologizing shortly before it cuts to the Croatian.

Entirely graceless though to accept the point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31,162 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

How do we know she didn't apologize? The camera cuts to Martic and Ostapenko actually looks like she might be apologizing shortly before it cuts to the Croatian.

Entirely graceless though to accept the point.
For one thing if she'd actually said sorry you'd hear it. In the other video she clearly says "sorry" and Cornut says "it's okay." It looked like she may have raised her hand (like Kudermetova did) in the same non-apology way someone does for a net cord, but that's it, and you can see her walking over to high-five Kudermetova when the camera cuts and then them laughing.

Of course she would accept the point though :lol:. That's like saying Bertens should have given Halep the point in the Madrid final, or someone should decline a point if their opponent accidentally touches the net on a putaway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: faboozadoo15

·
Honorary Admin
Joined
·
99,341 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I hear "pute" too, although Ostapenko said "Sorry" right after and Cornut quickly said "it's okay" and then seemed to even be laughing a little.
I listened it again and in fact she said "la pute" and then "putain" lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,666 Posts
I always thought this rule was in place for those returning players who like to stand close to the service line and try to intimidate the server. Thus, if you happen to get hit while trying to affect my service then I win the point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,305 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Classless as always :worship:

We all know that she would have raised a storm, and called Cornet and the umpire all sorts of names if that happened to her. But in this situation she's laughing about it, and there's no sign of a courtesy apology :rolleyes:

Glad she ended up losing.
Agree with you. She should have apologized.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,631 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I always thought this rule was in place for those returning players who like to stand close to the service line and try to intimidate the server. Thus, if you happen to get hit while trying to affect my service then I win the point.
Maybe Cornet was intimidating Penko by standing within 5 metres of the service box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,493 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I wish more players did that. The doubles game would become a bit more watchable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
930 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

That is not ok. But worse than Penko doing it, is the rules allowing it and rewarding her the point. Makes zero sense. Just make a target of your opponent then
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27,443 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Ostapenko is trash for not even apologizing.
Glad she lost
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34,153 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I always thought this rule was in place for those returning players who like to stand close to the service line and try to intimidate the server. Thus, if you happen to get hit while trying to affect my service then I win the point.
Never forget Lisicki actually standing inside the service box that the opponent Erakovic was serving in during the 2011 Wimbledon doubles semifinal. Erakovic partner Tanasugarn was not amused.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
181,826 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I was there courtside when it happened :rolls:
Cornet had a hissy fit
Only saw last 2 games or so but that point was worth it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,948 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

I love how Kudermetova does a little fist pump afterwards.. :haha:

I really hope there is a singles match between Ostapenko and Cornet soon.. The potential drama! :drool: Could make the Ostapenko Broady fiasco look like a weather report in comparison.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,423 Posts
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

For some reason I found Cornet's protest funny but appropriate.
"She served on me! It's a way to win a point"? :lol:
 
21 - 40 of 136 Posts
Top