Tennis Forum banner

Is Flemish a real or fake language?

• Flemish is a real language.

Votes: 19 37.3%
  • Flemish is a fake language, but it's a unique Dutch dialect.

Votes: 17 33.3%
  • It's just corrupt Dutch.

Votes: 15 29.4%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Damnit, wrong forum. Okay, let's make this about tennis then. Um, what's your favourite Flemish player Sabine or Kim?

·
Registered
2,883 Posts
I'd say Flemish and Dutch are like British English, American English and Australian English. Same language, different accent, sometimes different words.

And why would we mob you Messenger? We are very peaceful people... ;)

:wavey:

·
Registered
13,635 Posts
but josh said once that flemish is older so maybe we are the dialect;)

Reactions: Fieke

·
Registered
234 Posts
Don't want to brag here ;) but I'm studying Germanic philology at the uni of Leuven, more precisely English and Dutch. We learn that there isn't such a thing as a 'Flemish language'. There is Dutch. Period. Dutch is spoken in The Netherlands, Northern-Belgium and some the ABC-isles.
Flemish people do have different accents, some different words and sometimes even some different sentence constructions. But it's still the same language as spoken in TN.
just to clear this up :angel:

·
Chionophile
40,073 Posts
karma said:
Don't want to brag here ;) but I'm studying Germanic philology at the uni of Leuven, more precisely English and Dutch. We learn that there isn't such a thing as a 'Flemish language'. There is Dutch. Period. Dutch is spoken in The Netherlands, Northern-Belgium and some the ABC-isles.
Flemish people do have different accents, some different words and sometimes even some different sentence constructions. But it's still the same language as spoken in TN.
Thanks for clearing it up. I find history of langauges really interesting. What is 'Frisian'?