Tennis Forum banner

41 - 47 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,820 Posts
This one's pretty bad (also in a Wickmayer match):
Errani is correct, two mistakes by the ump, but Wickmayers return was in, was it not? I don't think the umps overrule hindered Errani attempt to get it. Replay the point was correct in the end.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,564 Posts
As far as the umpire was concerned the ball was dead before Wang's return landed out. It was of no consequence until Real Bounce corrected the earlier call. It's asking a lot of umpires to follow the play after an out call. If Wang hadn't returned the ball at all, easy (and correct) decision to award the point to Tig. But if the umpire is not sure, or cannot recall where Wang's shot landed she has no option but to ask for the point to be replayed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,306 Posts
Discussion Starter #43
As far as the umpire was concerned the ball was dead before Wang's return landed out. It was of no consequence until Real Bounce corrected the earlier call. It's asking a lot of umpires to follow the play after an out call. If Wang hadn't returned the ball at all, easy (and correct) decision to award the point to Tig. But if the umpire is not sure, or cannot recall where Wang's shot landed she has no option but to ask for the point to be replayed.
The linesman on Tig's side should have payed attention, but he didn't. The umpire asked him (see the 2nd video) but he didn't know.

There's also the following rule in the rulebook, but I'm not entirely sure if and how it could have been applied there:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,564 Posts
But the 2nd linesman wasn't unsighted. No call was made as the point was dead from the earlier incorrect call and because Tig had challenged before the ball landed out. If Wang's return had landed in and not been returned then Wang wouldn't have been given the point either. The play ended when the incorrect call was made.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,437 Posts
But the 2nd linesman wasn't unsighted. No call was made as the point was dead from the earlier incorrect call and because Tig had challenged before the ball landed out. If Wang's return had landed in and not been returned then Wang wouldn't have been given the point either. The play ended when the incorrect call was made.
That's actually a good explanation. Might seem strange but yes we cannot consider a ball dead until it bounces twice or there is some stop in play by umpire or challenge. The challenge/out call effectively "ends" the point and we cannot go further and speculate what happened around it.

As an example, in Madrid 2019 F Simona Halep was hit by a Bertens smash and lost the pt even though the Bertens ball would have been out otherwise and Halep well behind the baseline.
 
41 - 47 of 47 Posts
Top