Tennis Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
17,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used Ebay before last night. And I put in a bid on something at a fairly low price. Tha item only had one other bidder. Then just now I got an email telling me that I have been outbid. Naturally I put in a higher bid. But each time I entered my new bid, I got an instant message saying that I had been outbid. What? :confused: How did that happen? The other person couldn't have had enough time to see my new bid each time. I don't get it. And i don't like it! :mad: Is something fishy going on? Or is this general Ebay operation?

I don't want to go too high on the bid because I can't afford to. But I am annoued at this stage for Ebay instantly telling me I have been outbid one second after I entered my new bid.

Any opinions from experienced Ebay users would be appreciated.

·
Adrenaline junkie
23,018 Posts
There is a feature that would automatically increase your bid up to some limit if you got outbid. Those guys obviously use it..

I try to avoid Ebay.. Very little protection against cheaters.

·
Registered
17,731 Posts
Well I dont use it personally but my parents do and they have had no problems. I depends on what you are bidding for, ifs its something that would warrent constant interest like a Cult TV memerobilia, or a new video game then it might. I dont know how it works exactly, but the person who is selling it could be doing it themselves.

also make sure you are not on www.EBAY.com with capitals as that is a false web page, but I thought it had been shut down.

·
double-dog daredevil
12,044 Posts
The other bidder probably had a "proxy bid" - you enter the maximum amount you're willing to pay, and ebay autmatically bids for you up to that point.