Serving with two balls - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 3,115
                     
Serving with two balls

I was watching the 1980 Wimbledon final on YouTube and noticed evonne was still serving with two balls in hand. Was she the last person to win a gs doing so? Or did Hana do the same over the following year? I don't recall Martina doing this even in 1978 at W but I could be wrong?
Mark43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 09:42 PM
agradecería con alegría que me comierais la ñocla.
 
Sonf@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: La selva asturiana
Posts: 17,769
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

You mean serving and keeping a ball in hand? Graf did so throughout her career. Actually, I think she was the last player to serve that way.

Unless you are talking about keeping TWO balls in hand after the first serve

Yeah.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 09:47 PM
Moderator - BFTP
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 24,835
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
You mean serving and keeping a ball in hand? Graf did so throughout her career. Actually, I think she was the last player to serve that way.
Cool

Didn't realize that. Like Mark I thought went out of style in the 1970s.

I love Chris Evert, but hr early habit of tossing the second ball behind her was downright annoying
Rollo is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 09:52 PM
Chionophile
 
Sam L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cryosphere
Posts: 39,533
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
Cool

Didn't realize that. Like Mark I thought went out of style in the 1970s.

I love Chris Evert, but hr early habit of tossing the second ball behind her was downright annoying
So true. And that poster superstition thought that it was accidentally dropped from her panties.

Dancing and Skating through Life


Sam L is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 10:06 PM
Moderator - BFTP
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 24,835
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
So true. And that poster superstition thought that it was accidentally dropped from her panties.
That one gave me a good laugh Sam-thanks!


Another story about balls in the hand from Ted Tinling. Back in his heydey Bill Tilden held 5 balls in his non serving hand. When he was on "Big" Bill would then proceed to smack dramatically smack down four aces to win the game-then casually toss the 5th ball away.

Talk about Big hands!
Rollo is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Ms. Anthropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,514
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
You mean serving and keeping a ball in hand? Graf did so throughout her career. Actually, I think she was the last player to serve that way.

Unless you are talking about keeping TWO balls in hand after the first serve
Steffi's last Slam win holding both balls was the 1990 AO. Gaby also held both balls for a while, but I think she stopped somewhere before the 1990 USO.
Ms. Anthropic is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 13th, 2015, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 3,115
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Oh wow, so it was an entire decade later? Did Hana use two balls in 80/81?
Mark43 is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2015, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Ms. Anthropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,514
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark43 View Post
Oh wow, so it was an entire decade later? Did Hana use two balls in 80/81?
Don't think so. All the Youtube clips show her taking one ball at a time.

Steffi and Gaby were anachronisms, and there was some amusement when they were kids showing up on tour with the same out-dated "Ball kids? What are ball kids?" style.
Ms. Anthropic is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2015, 01:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Ms. Anthropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,514
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
That one gave me a good laugh Sam-thanks!


Another story about balls in the hand from Ted Tinling. Back in his heydey Bill Tilden held 5 balls in his non serving hand. When he was on "Big" Bill would then proceed to smack dramatically smack down four aces to win the game-then casually toss the 5th ball away.

Talk about Big hands!
Mansour Bahrami has a similar schtick, played for laughs, not aces.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARAD_MFRyUI at about the 2:29 mark, you can see how he holds them. Can't find a clip that shows the toss, but it is played for laughs. Bahrami is GOAT!
Ms. Anthropic is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 14th, 2015, 01:35 AM
Moderator - BFTP
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 24,835
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Bahrami is GOAT!
Truly

Many awesome tricks-the funniest was jumping over the net to chase down HIS own shot!
Rollo is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 15th, 2015, 01:54 AM
Senior Member
 
gabybackhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,256
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms. Anthropic View Post
Steffi's last Slam win holding both balls was the 1990 AO. Gaby also held both balls for a while, but I think she stopped somewhere before the 1990 USO.
Yeah, both Steffi and Gaby hold the second ball on the left hand after hitting a first serve. I even think they both stopped doing it pretty much the same time,around 1990. It's funny to me how many things linked them to each other.

Witness of an Era of Grandeur
Chris the Ice Lady - Martina Grace&Power
Fraulein Forehand - The Divine Argentine
Merciless Monica - Barcelona Bumblebee
gabybackhand is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2015, 02:15 PM
agradecería con alegría que me comierais la ñocla.
 
Sonf@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: La selva asturiana
Posts: 17,769
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ms. Anthropic View Post
Steffi's last Slam win holding both balls was the 1990 AO. Gaby also held both balls for a while, but I think she stopped somewhere before the 1990 USO.
Oops, my bad, I remember as a kid watching old footage of Graf's and for some reason I remember wondering about the ball issue but I must have mixed them up and I never paid further attention

So it's either Graf or Sabatini the last one to do so?

Yeah.
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2015, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Ms. Anthropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,514
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Oops, my bad, I remember as a kid watching old footage of Graf's and for some reason I remember wondering about the ball issue but I must have mixed them up and I never paid further attention

So it's either Graf or Sabatini the last one to do so?
It was Steffi at the 1990 AO. They were both only holding one ball in the 1990 USO final. Pretty sure Steffi stopped after 1990 Wimbledon, not sure about Gaby. The last holdouts!
Ms. Anthropic is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2015, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
Super Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45,022
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

The only time I had two balls in my hand was after I'd serve an ace and then grab them
Super Dave is online now  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old Feb 18th, 2015, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Ms. Anthropic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9,514
                     
Re: Serving with two balls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Dave View Post
The only time I had two balls in my hand was after I'd serve an ace and then grab them
Luke Jensen is that you?!?
Ms. Anthropic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome