Please correct me if I am wrong but when she won Wimbledon in 1990 didn't Martina, defensive about having "only" beaten Zina in the final, say something like "Well in the future the record books will say that I won Wimbledon for the ninth time, there wont be an asterisk saying that "Steffi did not play in the finals" ".
I seem to remember a while back Martina saying, now please correct me here if I am wrong, that Justines US and Aussie Slams should have an asterisk beside them as the best two women were not playing.
Now I know that there is a difference between the two comments in that Graf did actually play Wimbledon that year whereas Venus and Serena did not play in the slams that Justine won. But even so, it does smack A LITTLE of one rule for me one rule for others!!!
Has she or any other retired players been guilty of saying one thing at one point in their career then saying another later on? I love looking at those inconsistencies!