Contradicting themselves - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 2004, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 332
                     
Contradicting themselves

Please correct me if I am wrong but when she won Wimbledon in 1990 didn't Martina, defensive about having "only" beaten Zina in the final, say something like "Well in the future the record books will say that I won Wimbledon for the ninth time, there wont be an asterisk saying that "Steffi did not play in the finals" ".

I seem to remember a while back Martina saying, now please correct me here if I am wrong, that Justines US and Aussie Slams should have an asterisk beside them as the best two women were not playing.

Now I know that there is a difference between the two comments in that Graf did actually play Wimbledon that year whereas Venus and Serena did not play in the slams that Justine won. But even so, it does smack A LITTLE of one rule for me one rule for others!!!

Has she or any other retired players been guilty of saying one thing at one point in their career then saying another later on? I love looking at those inconsistencies!
jamesuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 2004, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
samn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,960
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesuk
Please correct me if I am wrong but when she won Wimbledon in 1990 didn't Martina, defensive about having "only" beaten Zina in the final, say something like "Well in the future the record books will say that I won Wimbledon for the ninth time, there wont be an asterisk saying that "Steffi did not play in the finals" ".
I don't remember Navratilova saying this at all. I do remember Navratilova saying that it didn't matter to her whether she played well in the final or not. Her exact words were something like "It didn't matter if I had to scrape and crawl out there to win; it didn't have to be a thing of beauty. They're not going to put an asterisk next to my name in the books and write 'Well, she won the record, but she didn't really play all that well.'"

Besides, what was Navratilova supposed to do anyway? Apologize for not having to play Graf in the final?
samn is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old Aug 10th, 2004, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 332
                     
Maybe i got confused then!! And yes she shoulda begged for forgiveness about Graf's no show!!!
Seriously though, seeing how she lost the match anyway , I would have preferred to see her play Graf in 94 final rather than in 90.
jamesuk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome