Thursday news from Hyderabad - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 05:39 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 709
                     
Thursday news from Hyderabad

Yes, Sunitha Rao is indeed there for the qualies .. So are Isha Lakhani and Megha Vakharia..

Here is the article from the Deccan Chronicle newspaper

Jay

==================

Preparations for WTA Open are in full swing

Hyderabad, Jan. 30: Preparations for the WTA Indian Open to be held at the SAAP tennis complex from February 3 are in full swing and some of the qualifiers, who have arrived were having a feel of the courts.

The qualifiers who practiced on Thursday were Olga Kalyazhanaya of Russia, Sunita Rao of USA, Maria Vento Kabchi of Venezuela, Indiaís Sania Mirza and a few Far East players. Isha Lakhani and Megha Vakharia also had a feel of the courts.

Mary Pierce, who lost in the first round of the Tokyo Open will arrive in the City on Monday, while top seeded Chanda Rubin is expected after the Tokyo tournament.

Addressing a press conference, Minister for commercial taxes K Vijayarama Rao said that the draws will take place on February 1 at the Taj Krishna at 12 noon.

The qualifying rounds will begin on Saturday afternoon, while the main draw matches will commence on February 3.

The Governor SS Barnala will inaugurate the championship, while Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu will preside.

Japanese WTA supervisor Nao Kawatei was impressed by the facilities at the Stadium and said that the players would be satisfied.

He said that the winner of the tournament will be awarded 95 points, while the runner up will get 67 points. Semifinalists will get 43 and quarterfinalists 24. Second round losers will be awarded 12 while the first round losers will get 1 point.

Tickets are on sale at various e seva centres in the city. Clubs have been asked to inform the organisers about the number of tickets they wanted to be blocked.

Doordarshan Sports will telecast the tournament live. Matches on the first day will be held from 3 p.m. while on subsequent days they will commence from 3.30 p.m.

The finals will be held from 4 p.m.
jayakris is offline  
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 08:36 AM
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,566
 
I wonder who the "few Far East players" are .
Steveg is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Shine On Silver Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 5,354
                     
Question HOW MANY HOURS DIFFERENT FROM BANGKOK AND JAKARTA?

How many hours different? Anyone can help me...? Thanks...BTW, why do they start it in the afternoon? Is it to avoid high temperature? Kawatei-san is there for sure..Wow, it has been a long time since I saw him last time in Jakarta!!!
Shine On Silver Moon is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
ms_nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,905
                     
India is 51/2 hours ahead of GMT.
And matches start in the cooler evenings just like the ATP event.
ms_nut is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Shine On Silver Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 5,354
                     
Cool GRACIAS MS NUT

Thanks ms_nut! Are you in university for teaching or studying? Or what else? I know it is far for you travel to H'rabad!!!
Shine On Silver Moon is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,614
                     
Sania is already at the venue. That's good to know. She'll probably have 3 days to practise... It's in her hometown and it is the same court on which she won the National Games gold medal, so what more could she ask for?
danielrosario is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 10:12 AM
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
TheBoiledEgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in Cloud Cuckoo Land
Posts: 181,777
                     
Olga is always playing events in India

Sania

evening time.. i presume about 4/5pm start ???

Good luck to my favs

AZARENKA

*Kuznetsova*Sharapova**Vesnina*Shvedova*Kasatkina*Pavlyuchenkova*Makarova
Diatchenko*Gasparyan*Zhuk*Potapova*Govortsova*Vikhlyantseva*Kudermetova*Anisimova*
*Svitolina*Yastremska*Kostyuk*Tsurenko
MINELLA Stollar Alize Lim*El Tabakh*Robson*Cirstea
*Juhaszova*Fourlis*Bouchard*
Boulter*Danilovic*
*Bellis*Soylu*Sibille*Eden Silva*Dodin*Mihalikova*Arango*Aksu*Detiuc*

http://www.twitter.com/TheBoiledEgg
TheBoiledEgg is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 01:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,901
                     
Quote:
Originally posted by Steveg
I wonder who the "few Far East players" are .
Yeah, I wish they elaborated which "Far-Eastern players"...

I know that Aiko Nakamura & Maki Arai have been there since Wednesday...
Rising Sun is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 709
                     
3.30 pm start on Monday, Indian time.

That is,

8 pm Sydney
7 pm Tokyo
6 pm Singapore, Taipei, Beijing
5 pm Jakarta, Bangkok
3 pm Tashkent
1 pm Teheran
12 noon Cairo
11 am Paris
10 am London
5 am New York
2 am Los Angeles

From Monday onwards, the start time is half hour later.
The finals on Sunday start an hour later.

It's not THAT incredibly hot or anything if they start earlier I think, but it's much nicer after about 3 pm there and it cools down quite fast by 6 pm.

Jay
jayakris is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 709
                     
Yeah, I too didn't like that "far easterm players" line in there. Something tells me that this writer would not write that there were a few "western players" practising there. Sort of like he/she didn't care much to find out who those players from the "far east" were ..

Jay
jayakris is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old Jan 31st, 2003, 04:46 PM
Team WTAworld
Mr. Try Too Hard
 
King Aaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: MaleisiŽ
Posts: 52,159
 
the writer should have made more of an effort instead of 'far east players'
King Aaron is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old Feb 1st, 2003, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,614
                     
I think the news coverage here was more than most other tournaments get. How many newspapers would publish reports on players warming up 3 days before the tournament starts?

For my part, though I would have liked to know who the far east players were, I will not crib about the writer but be happy that the paper at least published something on the prequalifying days.

BTW, I have seen many references in challenger reports to "east european players" so I wouldnt say that the far east asians are being discriminated against.
danielrosario is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old Feb 1st, 2003, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Shine On Silver Moon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 5,354
                     
Thumbs up AGREE

I agree with you Daniel!!!
Shine On Silver Moon is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old Feb 1st, 2003, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 11,901
                     
I'm sure the writer isn't discriminatory, but I do find that he was somehow 'ignorant' in not bothering to find out the names of these players.
Rising Sun is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome