Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too) - TennisForum.com
 165Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
danieln1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26,614
                     
Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Ost and Kudermetova were laughing at Cornut, who wasnt amused at all


Last edited by danieln1; Jul 11th, 2019 at 12:55 AM.
danieln1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:38 PM
Always and forever.
 
LefandePatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 33,467
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

This rule makes no sense.
MB. and Rads101 like this.
LefandePatty is online now  
post #3 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:40 PM
It's like cool epilepsy.
 
Ellery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brissy
Posts: 65,315
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Thankfully, Alize and Petra won
Ellery is offline  
 
post #4 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Haleptard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3,797
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Classless as always

We all know that she would have raised a storm, and called Cornet and the umpire all sorts of names if that happened to her. But in this situation she's laughing about it, and there's no sign of a courtesy apology

Glad she ended up losing.
Haleptard is offline  
post #5 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Blu?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: King's Landing
Posts: 7,648
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ellery View Post
Thankfully, Alize and Petra won
Ditto
Shvedbarilescu likes this.


···♥♥Wozniacki♥♥···

💨💦☁⚡"Even the darkest night will end and "Sunshine" will rise" ⛅☀🌞🌻
Blu? is offline  
post #6 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1,231
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

And this had already happened in that match:

Hanan Ubis and Rads101 like this.
Cyclo is offline  
post #7 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 492
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LefandePatty View Post
This rule makes no sense.
I was obviously aware you would win a point by hitting a returner with a serve, but never even though of hitting the other player Does it mean you can purposely target the player at the net and score aces?
LefandePatty and Perun like this.
posthuman is offline  
post #8 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,463
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

It's a way to win a point!

The other time Penko hit Cornet (in a rally a bit earlier) looked like it actually stung. And Ostapenko definitely apologized about *that*. But this one was funny, WTA's answer to all the ATP underarm serve aces
palttoonnappi is offline  
post #9 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
iGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Team Vika
Posts: 30,326
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

The lack of apology is pretty rude. Hilarious that her horrendous serves managed to win the point somehow though.
Shvedbarilescu and Perun like this.

My number one: Victoria Azarenka

ATP: Novak Djoković

Crazy Frenchies: Gilles Simon Alizé Cornet
iGOAT is offline  
post #10 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
iGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Team Vika
Posts: 30,326
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by posthuman View Post
I was obviously aware you would win a point by hitting a returner with a serve, but never even though of hitting the other player Does it mean you can purposely target the player at the net and score aces?
In theory yes although I imagine you'd get code violations and eventually defaulted if that really were an intentional strategy.

My number one: Victoria Azarenka

ATP: Novak Djoković

Crazy Frenchies: Gilles Simon Alizé Cornet
iGOAT is offline  
post #11 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
amyd_1989's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,106
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclo View Post
And this had already happened in that match:

After all this beating the victory I am sure taste a bit sweet and sore.
Shvedbarilescu likes this.
amyd_1989 is offline  
post #12 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Retired.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,491
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclo View Post
And this had already happened in that match:

at her calling Penko a bitch in French.
Silent Bird likes this.
Retired. is offline  
post #13 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 492
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by iGOAT View Post
In theory yes although I imagine you'd get code violations and eventually defaulted if that really were an intentional strategy.
what violation would that be? unsportsmanlike conduct?
posthuman is offline  
post #14 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
iGOAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Team Vika
Posts: 30,326
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by posthuman View Post
what violation would that be? unsportsmanlike conduct?
Yes ? It might be a bit hard to prove, but trying to hit your opponent instead of the court is kind of the definition of unsportsmanlike. I know with both at net that can be a good strategy (and that's when the opponent is within the court anyway), but serves are a bit different.

My number one: Victoria Azarenka

ATP: Novak Djoković

Crazy Frenchies: Gilles Simon Alizé Cornet
iGOAT is offline  
post #15 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 4th, 2019, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 492
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by iGOAT View Post
Yes ? It might be a bit hard to prove, but trying to hit your opponent instead of the court is kind of the definition of unsportsmanlike. I know with both at net that can be a good strategy (and that's when the opponent is within the court anyway), but serves are a bit different.
yeah, this part is why I'm not sure you could issue it. People do target their opponents all the time in doubles and it's not considered a violation.

Of course, it would be ridiculous to allow a player to do that strategically, I just wonder if the rulebook is prepared for that.
posthuman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome