Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too) - Page 9 - TennisForum.com
 164Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #121 of 133 (permalink) Old Jul 10th, 2019, 11:36 PM
never really over
 
Potapovian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 18,994
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Her serve is such a mess


Dear god some of the first couple of pages of this thread are absolute buzz kill, take a chill pill people.. If it was literally anyone other than Cornet they'd all have a little laugh about it
Potapovian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 12:56 AM Thread Starter
-LIFETIME MEMBER-
 
danieln1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26,581
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobito View Post
She hit him again today



Ost is such a MESS!
danieln1 is offline  
post #123 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 01:08 AM
Senior Member
 
cogent53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,249
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Ostapenko was hilarious in the mixed match today. She was awful for a set and a half. Hit her poor partner - 20 years older than her - AGAIN! Then she hit form at the end of the second, amazing ground strokes, great serving and had to queue for the loos while Zhang was in there and was the best player on court! She’s a hoot!
palttoonnappi likes this.

Fan of...
Petra Kvitova

Steffi Graf Justine Henin
Elena Dementieva Angelique Kerber Amelie Mauresmo
Simona Halep
Aryna Sabalenka Kiki Bertens Daria Kasatkina Maria Sharapova

cogent53 is offline  
 
post #124 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 02:02 AM
Retired Vigilante
 
Rads101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7,149
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubyaxles View Post
I can't believe there is a debate with a rule that works perfectly

Just don't hit balls that are going out. It's not that hard
LOL. This is like saying that as long as you drive within the white lines, you can never end up in an accident. As if one could control the torpedoes the opponent sometimes is sending, or could always control where/how they stop from running before they figure out that ball will be out.

It baffles me people label "works perfectly" a rule which doesn't make any sense when the player is behind the baseline. In what world and under which scenario, would that ball ever return on court?!?

We can have a longer debate about serving area, fine, or the sides of the court, if a player sends a ball around the net , and it hits the other guy on the side of tram lines. Without hawkeye trajectory calculation, one can make a case that ball might have returned and hit the corner... it's a longer debate and I believe rules can be set-up there too. But leave that aside from now... I can't for the life of me understand why some people defend the rule also for the situation of a hit behind the baseline. Did you win a match ones thanks to this? Well, consider yourself lucky... but there's no fairness or logic in the rule.
bobito likes this.

/
Rads101 is offline  
post #125 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Mightymirza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,442
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veesus Christ View Post
Nobody is safe from the Ostapenko serve this Wimbledon...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRRPRo71sWY
She was supposed to serve down the T probably given where he was moving Not even close..

SANIA JUSTINE ELENAD

Martina Hingis Ana Ivanovic Myskina Safarova

When I have my goals set, I always attain them- Justine
Mightymirza is online now  
post #126 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 07:56 AM
Art & Futures
 
Hanan Ubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 20,221
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobito View Post
It doesn't really matter. If the player is standing beyond the baseline when they are hit then the ball had no chance of landing in.

People are trying to suggest that these are small margins when they really aren't. If a player is standing outside of the court when the ball hits them then the ball has already passed beyond the point where it could possibly land in the court.

The exceptions to this rule would be so rare as to be inconsequential. A simple rule stating that if a ball hits a player who is standing outside the court (or service box for a serve) then it is called out would have no practical downsides.

And no, this doesn't happen very often, but there's no harm in changing the rules to get it right when it does.

The only distinction you'd need to draw is the obvious one, that if a player plays the ball with their racquet then the ball remains in play. I suppose you could then have an argument over whether a player played the ball or, as in Cornet's case, was taking evasive action and the ball simply hit her racquet but I'd imagine it would pretty obvious in most cases and easy for the umpire to decide.
You are correct that it happens quite rarely, but we don't want to change the rules so that it encourages any increase in confusion or its exploitation. Ie, it could encourage players to be more willing to stand near the center service line against a good server so that in case they get hit, they can make an argument that the serve should be a fault... or even more likely, to distract the server.

In sports it's generally better to distribute discretion to nearly inarguable realities, not place it in the hands of a single human being who may not notice certain things happening or interpret something differently. If you must have a rule change that leaves it up to the discretion of one sole person, it should be specific enough to only apply to doubles, in cases where the direction of the ball is clearly and inarguably heading to the wrong side of the court, and where the "hit" player is nowhere near the center service line. The last part is where it gets a bit hair-brainy and you would need to find some way of specifying it or simply leaving it up to the discretion of the umpire, which isn't a great idea (but for something this infrequent at this point who cares). Another way to insulate the rule is to make it so that it initiates a replay rather than it counting as a fault or point (to the "hit" player team). That way, it's not worthwhile to exploit AND more importantly, both teams have responsibility and neither are at fault, which in reality, best reflects what actually is the intent of the players when something like this happen.

Venus Serena JJ Bethanie Vania Naomi
Petra S. Peng S. Zhang Su-Wei Vera Cici
Vesnina Sveta McHale Zarina Qiang Lizette Danielle Dayana Amanda
Elina Min Garbiñe Sachia Luksika Yafan Niculescu Sofia Sloane Franny Crawford Patty Shelby
Kokkinakis Pospisil Coric Nishikori Berdych Huey Shapovalov Sock F.Lopez Murray Tiafoe Dmitrov Monfils Thiem Roanic Tsonga Khachanov Sugita Chung
--Praying for the return of carpet courts-- Good for the body and quick points!
Hanan Ubis is offline  
post #127 of 133 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 11:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Ascanius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 95
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Oh dear, Penko........
Poor guy might want to get checked for a concussion.
Ascanius is offline  
post #128 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Sinjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,929
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Brat, always has been and always will be.

I doubt if she will ever grow up.

Forza Kiki
Sinjo is offline  
post #129 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 06:09 AM
All I want for Christmas is EU
 
Shvedbarilescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London
Posts: 31,463
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veesus Christ View Post
Nobody is safe from the Ostapenko serve this Wimbledon...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LRRPRo71sWY
Indeed.

If Ostapenko doesn't sort out her serve, it may become too dangerous to allow her onto the court. If this continues, players, ballboys and girls, linespersons and other officials and even the audience will all need to be supplied with headmasks to protect themselves from the precariously errant serves of Jelena Ostapenko.

Okay, I gest. But this is becoming farcical.

Shvedbarilescu is offline  
post #130 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 07:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,444
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shvedbarilescu View Post
Indeed.

If Ostapenko doesn't sort out her serve, it may become too dangerous to allow her onto the court. If this continues, players, ballboys and girls, linespersons and other officials and even the audience will all need to be supplied with headmasks to protect themselves from the precariously errant serves of Jelena Ostapenko.

Okay, I gest. But this is becoming farcical.
It's not her fault, English is not her native language - when they suggested Robert Lindstedt as her hitting partner, she just misunderstood!
palttoonnappi is offline  
post #131 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
PovaBmachY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1,567
                     
If only the played Serena and Andy. Would be hilarious if Ostapenko bonked Serena or Andy in the head (or another painful area).
PovaBmachY is online now  
post #132 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,444
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PovaBmachY View Post
If only the played Serena and Andy. Would be hilarious if Ostapenko bonked Serena or Andy in the head (or another painful area).
She would never get a visa to the USA or to the post-Brexit UK (or post-Brexit England, as the case may be) after that
palttoonnappi is offline  
post #133 of 133 (permalink) Old Today, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Mightymirza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,442
                     
Re: Ostapenko Hits Cornet With A Serve, Wins The Point! (Hits 2x male partner too)

Quote:
Originally Posted by palttoonnappi View Post
She would never get a visa to the USA or to the post-Brexit UK (or post-Brexit England, as the case may be) after that
If this were to happen, Andy Murray will probably not be part of it So that won't be a problem.

SANIA JUSTINE ELENAD

Martina Hingis Ana Ivanovic Myskina Safarova

When I have my goals set, I always attain them- Justine
Mightymirza is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome