Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the Case of a Retirement? - TennisForum.com
TennisForum.com   Wagerline.com MensTennisForums.com TennisUniverse.com
TennisForum.com is the premier Women's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

View Poll Results: Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the case of Retirement?

Yes 5 10.20%
No 32 65.31%
Only if the winner is already a set up 12 24.49%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Reply

Old Nov 24th, 2013, 09:11 PM   #1
country flag Chris 84
Senior Member
 
Chris 84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 24,489
Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute Chris 84 has a reputation beyond repute
Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the Case of a Retirement?

Should such SRs be counted? Yes, no, or only in situations where the winning player is at least a set up?

The current rule:

in case of retirements, SRs never count.


eg

petrova def kuznetsova 6-3 4-0 ret

player A picks kuznetsova 2-0
player B picks kuznetsova 2-1

player B DOES NOT gain an advantage from his 2-1 pick as the match ended in retirement.

if such picks were allowed, then player B would gain credit for his incorrect 2-1 pick.

a third option would be to allow incorrect 2-1s to count only where the winning player is already a set up. this would give player B the advantage in my example but rules out cases of pure luck

eg

petrova def kuznetsova 1-1 ret
OR
petrova def kuznetsova 0-6 0-3 ret

player A picks kuznetsova 2-0
player B picks kuznetsova 2-1

with the third option, player B wouldn't get credit for his incorrect 2-1 pick as petrova was not a set up at the time of retirement.
__________________
Come on the Bhoys!
GISELA DULKO

Bibiane Schoofs Flavia Pennetta Anett Kontaveit Aga Radwanska Tara Moore Sorana Cirstea

MY TWITTER
https://twitter.com/ChrissieBhoy
Chris 84 is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old Nov 25th, 2013, 09:24 AM   #2
country flag saarsngg
Senior Member
 
saarsngg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,283
saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of saarsngg has much to be proud of
Re: Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the Case of a Retirement?

I don't understand why so many people are voting "No". Let me try to explain option 3 in more detail

To take the example above (Kuznetsova vs. Petrova), imagine that the only diff for that round is:
You vs. Opponent
Kuznetsova 2-1 vs Kuznetsova 2-0

You follow the live scores and see Petrova win the first set 6-0. You start celebrating, since the only scenarios left sans a retirement are:
a) Petrova winning 2-0 or 2-1 -->you win with ISR
b) Kuznetsova winning 2-1-->you win with SR

Instead, Petrova retires after being up 6-0 3-0. You go to TB1 for a match that you would have won so long as Petrova-Kuznetsova had been completed, and lose. How can you not think this rule ridiculous?
__________________
Serena ~ Venus ~ Petra ~ JJ~ Li Na

Titles
PAW: Paris '13, Carlsbad '13, Seoul '13, Osaka '13 & Nurnberg '14
TT Doubles: ITF Perth '13 (w/Chilenaitor), ITF Nules '13, ITF Winnipeg '14 (w/Spencer.)
saarsngg is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25th, 2013, 06:19 PM   #3
country flag Javi.
Senior Member
 
Javi.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sevilla
Posts: 10,898
Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute Javi. has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the Case of a Retirement?

As many retirements in WTA are ridiculous (Morita, Stevenson, etc) or suspicious, it's ok that it counts for guessing the winner but that should be more than enough reward for a retirement, getting ISR as well seems too much for me.
Javi. is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2nd, 2013, 06:59 PM   #4
country flag Michael!
indescribable
 
Michael!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Germany
Posts: 49,772
Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute Michael! has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Should Incorrect 2-1 SRs be Counted in the Case of a Retirement?

poll closed!
Current rule stays!
Michael! is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios