1878 results - TennisForum.com
TennisForum.com   Wagerline.com MensTennisForums.com TennisUniverse.com
TennisForum.com is the premier Women's Tennis forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!

Old Jul 19th, 2010, 10:32 PM   #1
Moderator - BFTP
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 18,733
Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute Rollo has a reputation beyond repute
1878 results


*This information comes from original research by Newmark.

September 26-30, South of Ireland Championships*, County Limerick Cricket Club, Limerick, Ireland (Grass)

1R: Miss Boyse d. Miss Browning 6-4
1R: Miss Collingwood d. Miss Dorman 6-4
1R: Miss Smith d. Miss D. Dorman 6-2
1R: Mrs Lyons d. Miss Fosberry 6-1
1R: Miss Lysaght-bye
1R: Miss Boyse-bye

2R: Miss Smith d. Miss Collingwood 6-2
2R: Miss J. Boyse d. Miss Lysaght 6-4
2R: Mrs Lyons d. Miss Boyse 6-2

SF: Miss Smith d. Miss Boyse 6-0
SF: Mrs Lyons, a bye

FI: Miss Smith d. Mrs Lyons 6-1 6-1

This tournament had first been held in 1877, when it also featured an open women's singles event. The defending champion was Miss Smith whose first name it has not been possible to find. Matches consisted of only one set up until the final.

The "Irish Times" newspaper of October 1, 1878, carried the following report on this tournament:

"The competitors for the Ladies’ Singles were Miss Smith, Oola; Miss Dorman, Kinsale; Miss D. Dorman, ditto; Miss Collingwood, Newcastle West; Miss Browning, Carass Court, Croom; Miss Fosberry, Kilgobbin; Mrs Lyons, Croom House; Miss Boyse, Ballinverleck; Miss Isabella Boyse, ditto; Miss Considine, Derk; and Miss Lysaght, Limerick.

"There was intense interest in the ladies’ game, which was played in a very superior way by the fair competitors, all anxious to secure the championship in this favourite pastime. At length, the final tie fell to Mrs Lyons and Miss Smith, who took up their positions on either side of the net. Miss Smith distinguished herself last year by her skilful play, and held the first rank as favourite.

"Today, the grace and skilful play of Mrs Lyons told greatly in her favour, and the best judges of the game predicted that she would secure the laurels, but it was fated to be otherwise. Miss Smith played a splendid game, and was declared the winner, amidst loud plaudits, in which her opponent heartily joined.

"The only other event as yet undecided was the Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Doubles. The competitors were Mr B. Lysaght and Miss M.L. Lysaght; Mr Kellie and Miss Lumley; Mr J. O’Grady Delemege and Miss Kate Delmege, Castlepark; Mr Smith and Miss Smith; Mr Considine and Miss Considine; Mr Elliott and Miss Dorman; Mr Darby and Miss Vandeleur. The victors in the final tie were Mr Considine and his sister. The game was remarkably well contested."

Two days later, the "Irish Times" carried this report:

"We give below the full score of the Lawn Tennis Tournament, which was not concluded until late on Monday afternoon. All the events were well contested and the large and fashionable gathering present each day witnessed with great interest the very fine play in the different matches. By the kind permission of Colonel Waters and the officers of the 82nd Regiment their excellent band attended each day.


"The cups and prizes were exhibited in the pavilion, and were much admired. The tournament was played under the new Marylebone and All England Rules."


Results for other years may be found at:

Last edited by Rollo : Aug 10th, 2010 at 07:29 PM.
Rollo is offline View My Blog!   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Copyright (C) Verticalscope Inc
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007, PixelFX Studios