Originally Posted by ma re
If I understand correctly it's a total of 10 plus those 3 she got for finishing 2012 as #1 junior. So far she has played 6 (plus Fed Cup which she is allowed to play anyway). But I'm still not sure if those 3 count as additional tournaments.
Yes, they do. So in her case she has 4 left + 3 merited increases(finishing 2012 in junior top 5, reaching the final of AO & USO). The good news is that she doesn't have to use the merited increases this year.
" Merited increases earned in
one birth year may be carried over to subsequent birth years provided
that the player does not exceed four total merited increases
per birth year." wta rulebook page 250