TennisForum.com  

TennisForum.com (http://www.tennisforum.com/index.php)
-   Fed Cup (http://www.tennisforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1075)
-   -   Tipping Fed Cup 2012: R2, Congrats Estonia and Serbia! (http://www.tennisforum.com/showthread.php?t=457634)

ma re Apr 17th, 2012 10:21 AM

Tipping Fed Cup 2012: R2, Congrats Estonia and Serbia!
 
131 Attachment(s)
TIPPING FEDERATION CUP



Welcome to the second round of Tipping Federation Cup 2012!

HOW TO PLAY

First of all, you have to sign-in and specify the team you'll play for. If you have played before, you don't have to sign-in again, unless you'd like to play for another team. New players can choose to join one of the existing teams (listed below), or select any other country. There are no restrictions regarding the number of players per team.

You do, however, have to sign-in before the start of the first match if you'd like to play for an existing team as a new player. If you are a bit late, you can still play, but for some country that still has no players representing it. Changes of team choices are possible until the start of the competition. You can switch teams as the season goes, but you will be able to transfer to an existing team only if committed members of that team state that they don't object you joining in.

ENTRY LIST at the moment looks like this:

AUSTRALIA: Kev., Buitenzorg, hessie
AZERBAIJAN: HateBlackouts02
BELGIUM: elle-marie
BRAZIL: Broseghini, wtatourfan
CANADA: Drake1980
CHINESE TAIPEI: coolfish1103
CROATIA: ma re
ESTONIA: WhoAmI?, chingching
FRANCE: *Jean*, Djezonfly
GERMANY: Emrys, Frederik
GREECE: hellas719, SamR03A, come on lena
ITALY: Ralph214, Shadowcat
ISRAEL: ronim1
JAPAN: longtin23
LUXEMBOURG: MandyRulz
MEXICO: legionmx
NETHERLANDS: Sasja, Wrongagain
POLAND: JustPetko, Beesley, cswab22
RUSSIAN FEDERATION: NDee
SERBIA: BlackPanther., Igorche
SLOVAKIA: Hapsara
SPAIN: supertec
UK: kejm
USA: KittyTennis, Vaxey

Tipping is like Tennis Tipping but different. You don't play other people and you don't have to tip the score which makes it an easier game to play. Everyone can play!

Playing Tipping is very easy. I will post the schedule and then you just tip who you think will win.

e.g If the schedule was...
Ivanovic vs Sharapova
V. Williams vs S. Williams

This is how you would tip...
Ivanovic
V. Williams

We play only main draw singles matches and only "live" matches, so when one team gets to 3 points and wins the tie, we don't count any matches played later on.

If there's 1 point played in a match then the match counts (walkover or a pre-match retirement doesn´t count).

Deadline for posting your tips is until the scheduled start of the match in question, so check this info due to time zones etc.

DO NOT edit your post. If you want to change your picks do it in a new post. Edited posts will make all your picks invalid. Also, don't quote your earlier post when changing picks. Just write what you are changing in a new one.

SCORING

Fed Cup Semifinals: 5 points per correct tipp
World Group I play-off: 3 points per correct tipp
World Group II play-off: 1 points per correct tipp

After all the matches of the day are played, we'll sum up all the points earned by the players of each team and divide by the number of players who played that day for the team. So for example, a sum of points earned by 4 players of some team during the day, will be divided by four to give the team's score.

Scores from each Fed Cup weekend will count towards the end of season team winner, but will also be taken to form continuous, 52-week team rankings. So each season the points earned last year have to be defended. Points earned during Fed Cup weekends will not count for your individual tipping rankings (points earned playing tournaments). Fed Cup rankings and race standings can be found in the Games >>> Tipping section of the forum, along with all the rules.

For current STANDINGS as well as info on how much each team is DEFENDING in this round, go HERE.
For current 2012 RACE RANKINGS (with R1 completed) go HERE

SECOND ROUND TIES

Semifinals

In Moscow, Russia
Russia vs. Serbia

In Ostrava, Czech Republic
Czech Republic vs. Italy

World Group I play-offs

In Kharkiv, Ukraine
Ukraine vs. USA

In Tokyo, Japan
Japan vs. Belgium

In Marbella, Spain
Spain vs. Slovak Republic

In Stuttgart, Germany
Germany vs. Australia

World Group II play-offs

In Besancon, France
France vs. Slovenia

In Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Switzerland vs. Belarus

In Boras, Sweden
Sweden vs. Great Britain

In Buenos Aires, Argentina
Argentina vs. China P. R.

Matches will take place on the 21st and 22nd of April. Complete Order of play will be posted here as soon as it is available.

Have fun and good luck!

ma re Apr 17th, 2012 10:21 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
I'd like to take this opportunity to explain several changes that we have in Tipping FC as of this weekend.

First of all, a rule has been slightly changed that said all the players of a team have to agree to accept a new player in. As of now, only acceptance of committed (those who are playing this weekend) players is needed. Since KittyTennis already accepted Frederik to the USA team back in February, and since Vaxey hasn't played any tipping for months now, I have included Frederik into the USA team.

Another addition to the rules is that I have specified it that you should not quote your previous post when making changes to your picks. I was saying before that this will become official, but for now if someone mistakenly quotes I won't give out any penalties. You will however be closely monitored if you do it, for the risk of manipulations.

I have also rephrased the sentence about scoring so that it's more clear now - the total number of points won by a team during the day is divided by the number of players who participated in play that day.

Hope everything else is clear, feel free to ask any questions and of course you're all welcome to join in.

ma re

come on lena Apr 17th, 2012 10:51 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
Thanks ma re :)
and in for beautiful Greece :p

Emrys Apr 17th, 2012 12:01 PM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
Dobby (Germany) is Emrys :wavey:

hellas719 Apr 19th, 2012 03:47 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
Can I only play Saturday (for Greece)? Because I can't play Sunday. Will we lose points if I get a 0?

Frederik Apr 19th, 2012 04:05 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
In for Germany. ;)

I don't want to play for 2 different teams in the same year.

come on lena Apr 19th, 2012 07:49 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hellas719 (Post 21284446)
Can I only play Saturday (for Greece)? Because I can't play Sunday. Will we lose points if I get a 0?

I think you can :D

ma re Apr 19th, 2012 07:52 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by hellas719 (Post 21284446)
Can I only play Saturday (for Greece)? Because I can't play Sunday. Will we lose points if I get a 0?

No, if you play just one day your team wont' be punished or anything like that. All the points that the team earns in a day are divided by how many of them played that day (say, if the two of you play on day1 and get 60 points the team will get 60/2=30, but if only one plays on day 2 and earns 40, the team will get 40/1=40).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frederik (Post 21284477)
In for Germany. ;)

I don't want to play for 2 different teams in the same year.

As you wish, I will change that now.

ma re Apr 19th, 2012 07:57 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by come on lena (Post 21284736)
I think you can :D

Yes, you absolutely can play just one of two days (in case I wasn't clear in my previous post).

Kəv. Apr 19th, 2012 11:57 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
I kinda don't like the idea of this (everyone being in a tipping chart) :shrug:

We should be put into a draw, like TT.
Say AUS v GRE
We should be tipping though. Like we should be tipping every fed cup match (excluding zones) and then we should be measured like say if I got 5 and Buitenzorg got 3 so AUS is on 8 and GRE is on like 7, by the end of the round say if AUS won we should move up to the SF or like to WGI or something.

Just a thought :shrug:

ma re Apr 19th, 2012 03:23 PM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
Hindrance, that's an interesting idea, but changing the format in the middle of the season is not something I'd like to give a try. We'll definately explore these and all other ideas for 2013, to make the game as interesting as possible while keeping as much of its original format as well. We can't simply copy another game cause then we'd just end up with two games of the same format, but implementing some details from different games is certainly possible.

HawkAussie Apr 20th, 2012 10:33 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
In for Azerbajain and if anyone wants to join the team I will accept.

P.S - I am WTAtennis2012

ma re Apr 20th, 2012 11:49 AM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by HateBlackouts02 (Post 21288459)
In for Azerbajain and if anyone wants to join the team I will accept.

P.S - I am WTAtennis2012

Right. I just corrected that.

BTW, you guys can expect complete Order of play to be up here this evening, I hope it'll ready be in around 8 or 9 hours time.

ma re Apr 20th, 2012 05:22 PM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: semifinals, WG1 and WG2 play-offs
 
131 Attachment(s)
FED CUP DAY 1 ORDER OF PLAY

SEMIFINALS

Russia vs. Serbia
Moscow, indoor clay, starting time 13:00 CET

A. PAVLYUCHENKOVA vs. J. JANKOVIC
S. KUZNETSOVA vs. A. IVANOVIC


Czech Republic vs. Italy
Ostrava, indoor hard, starting time 12:00 CET

L. SAFAROVA vs. F. SCHIAVONE
P. KVITOVA vs. S. ERRANI


WORLD GROUP PLAY-OFFS

Ukraine vs. USA
Kharkiv, outdoor clay, starting time 10:30 CET

L. TSURENKO vs. C. MCHALE
E. SVITOLINA vs. S. WILLIAMS


Japan vs. Belgium
Tokyo, indoor hard, starting time 06:00 CET

A. MORITA vs. A. VAN UYTVANCK
K. DATE-KRUMM vs. T. HENDLER


Spain vs. Slovak Republic
Marbella, outdoor clay, starting time 11:15 CET

L. DOMINGUEZ-LINO vs. D. CIBULKOVA
S. SOLER-ESPINOSA vs. D. HANTUCHOVA


Germany vs. Australia
Stuttgart, indoor clay, starting time 12:00 CET

A. KERBER vs. S. STOSUR
J. GOERGES vs. J. GAJDOSOVA


WORLD GROUP II PLAY-OFFS

France vs. Slovenia
Besancon, indoor hard, starting time 12:00 CET

V. RAZZANO vs. P. HERCOG
P. PARMENTIER vs. N. KOLAR


Switzerland vs. Belarus
Yverdon-les-Bains, indoor hard, starting time 12:00 CET

T. BACSINSZKY vs. O. GOVORTSOVA
S. VOEGELE vs. A. SASNOVICH


Sweden vs. Great Britain
Boras, indoor hard, starting time 14:00 CET

J. LARSSON vs. E. BALTACHA
S. ARVIDSSON vs. A. KEOTHAVONG


Argentina vs. China P. R.
Buenos Aires, outdoor clay, starting time 15:30 CET

P. ORMAECHEA vs. Y. ZHOU
F. MOLINERO vs. Q. WANG

ma re Apr 20th, 2012 05:26 PM

Re: Tipping Fed Cup 2012: R2, OOP for day 1 in post #14
 
131 Attachment(s)
TIME ZONE GUIDE


06:00 CET IS:
- 21:00 the day before in Los Angeles
- 23:00 the day before in Mexico City
- 01:00 in Rio de Janeiro
- 05:00 in London
- 07:00 in Istanbul
- 09:30 in New Delhi
- 12:00 in Shanghai
- 13:00 in Tokyo
- 14:00 in Melbourne
- 16:00 in Auckland

12:00 CET IS:
- 03:00 in Los Angeles
- 05:00 in Mexico City
- 07:00 in Rio de Janeiro
- 11:00 in London
- 13:00 in Istanbul
- 15:30 in New Delhi
- 18:00 in Shanghai
- 19:00 in Tokyo
- 20:00 in Melbourne
- 22:00 in Auckland

Hope this helps.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.