TennisForum.com  

TennisForum.com (http://www.tennisforum.com/index.php)
-   FITD (http://www.tennisforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=892)
-   -   A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (http://www.tennisforum.com/showthread.php?t=354576)

watchdogfish Aug 25th, 2008 09:22 PM

A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here!
 
.::.A Beginner's Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw.::.


1. What is Fill-in-the-Draw (FITD)?
FITD is simple and only takes a few minutes each week. You just post a full predicted draw for the current WTA tournament. That's all of the winners of all of the matches for every round. You then score points for each correctly chosen winner of each match.

2. So how do I post my draw?
You can begin predicting once the main draw has been made. Post your predictions in the form of "A def B" or "A d. B" (not "A loses to B" please). You may also write down the winners' name only.

Please make sure you write down the player's full name or surname, no nicknames please!

Please note that the tournament manager can use their discretion as to what is an acceptable format or not.

3. Is there a commitment thread I need to post in first?
No commitments are required for FITD, just post your picks in the tournament thread! However, all draws must be made before the first ball of the first main draw match is struck. Any draws posted after this time will not be counted!

There are no special rules for new posters either. Everyone is welcome to play whether you have 2 posts or 20,000 posts; if you've been a member for 1 week or 5 years!

4. The main draw has started and the qualifiers are still unknown. Can I change my draw once they're placed?
No you can't. Occasionally the qualifying rounds are finished before the main draw has started, but if the qualifiers are still unknown you can indicated them as "Q" or "Qualifier".

If two qualifiers are drawn to face each other you must specify which one you want to win in the form of, for example, "Q1 def Q2". If you do not do this, that particular pick will not be counted.

5. A player has withdrawn. Can I change my draw?
You can change your draw only if the withdrawing player was seeded. If this is the case, make sure you make a new post and quote your previous draw. If play has already begun and the seeded player then withdraws unfortunately this is just bad luck.

6. Why must I quote my old pick? Wouldn't it be easier to edit my post?
It would save you one post but the tournament manager would not be sure of the exact reason for you editing your picks. So to keep this game as fair as possible there is this no editing rule and any edited post will not be counted UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. Don't worry if the formatting gets lost in transit, we can pick out your predications no problem!

7. Ok, so I've posted my draw what happens now?
You can sit back and relax! Once each round of the tournament is completed the tournament manager will give you points for each player you correctly predict into the next round. These points are based on the WTA ranking points the pro players gain in a tournament. For example scoring for a Grand Slam uses these points:

2000....Picking the correct winner
1400....Picking each correct finalist
900.....Picking each correct semi finalist
500.....Picking each correct quarter finalist
280.....Picking each correct player into Round of 16
160.....Picking each correct player into Round of 32
100.....Picking each correct player into Round of 64

So say for example you predicted the following at the US Open quarter final stage:

Dementieva..def....Sharapova
Jankovic....def....Kuznetsova
Serena......def....Venus
Ivanovic....def....Wozniacki

And the actual real winners were:

Sharapova
Jankovic
Serena
Wozniacki

You will score 1800 points for guessing two of the semi finalists correctly (900 x 2 = 1800).

The poster with the most accumulated points at the end of the tournament will be champion.

8. I have predicted the right winners but my Quarter Final doesn't match the real Quarter Final. Does that mean I won't score any points?
As long as you guess the correct winner you will score points regardless of who they actually play in their matches.

9. What if there's more than one tournament each week? Can I play in all of them?
Yes you can, but the highest number of ranking points you earn from only one of the tournaments will count towards your ranking.

10. How do the rankings work exactly?
FITD has two sets of rankings - the Race and the Overall 52-week system.

Both use a special set of ranking points depending on the grade of a tournament and can be found here

The Overall 52-week system only takes into account your 18 best tournaments. These are made up of the 8 mandatories (Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open, Indian Wells, Miami, Madrid and Beijing) and your 10 best other results. Here's an example below:






Here is the breakdown for my current ranking. The mandatory tournaments are in bold at the top, followed by my 10 best other results. My 17th best result is the 70 points I gained from New Haven. This means in order to improve my ranking, I need to gain more than 70 points each week.

The Race starts afresh each January and those who finish 1st-16th at the end of the year will take part in the SEC in Doha and those who finish 17th-32nd in the standings will play the TOC in Sofia. There are no cut-offs for these ranks, all weeks count!

You gain a ranking after you've competed in your first tournament.

The rankings can be found here: Race and Overall

11. Do I need to be a certain rank to play in some tournaments?
No, you can enter any tournament grade whether you are ranked #1 or #999!

Only the YEC is restricted to the top sixteen finishers in the Race rankings.

12. Can I be a tournament manager?
Of course, just
sign up here. However, we would prefer it if you've already played FITD for a few weeks first or if you've already had experience running a tennisforum.com game before!

13. Any other questions/queries/complaints/comments?
If you think one of us has made a mistake or have any other questions, feel free to PM one of the tournament managers and we'll be happy to try and help! Also, if you have any suggestions that you think will improve the game then don't hesitate to say.

Bennguin1491 Aug 28th, 2008 08:34 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw (Rules, FAQs, etc all in here!)
 
awesome! :D

Koon Oct 5th, 2008 02:04 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw (Rules, FAQs, etc all in here!)
 
What happen if we win in double ? Please

Bennguin1491 Oct 7th, 2008 11:18 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw (Rules, FAQs, etc all in here!)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zvonareva (Post 14193485)
What happen if we win in double ? Please

As far as FITD-doubles go, all of the rules and everything is the same.

Justin SW Feb 1st, 2009 05:04 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Updated 8th Jan
 
If I play two tounaments in a week. Are both results added to the RACE!

watchdogfish Feb 2nd, 2009 10:34 AM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Updated 8th Jan
 
You can play in both but only your highest finish in one of the tournaments will count in the rankings :)

sdtoot May 23rd, 2010 01:52 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Is it allowed for players to post draws for other players?

watchdogfish May 23rd, 2010 04:00 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sdtoot (Post 17811315)
Is it allowed for players to post draws for other players?

Not normally, but I got a PM well in advance. If the draws are identical, however, then they won't be counted.

sdtoot May 23rd, 2010 09:37 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
So if we send a pm to the manager in advance, then you can ask another player to post a draw for you? (If say for example you are away on holiday for a few weeks). Thanks in advance.

WhoAmI? Jul 10th, 2010 05:35 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Does every tournament have to have one winner? I mean in the case if there are 2 or more people with the same score are they all winners, or is there some tie-break method?

watchdogfish Jul 10th, 2010 06:06 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sdtoot (Post 17815612)
So if we send a pm to the manager in advance, then you can ask another player to post a draw for you? (If say for example you are away on holiday for a few weeks). Thanks in advance.

Actually thinking about it that makes it complicated. I think to keep the game as fair as possible everyone should post their draws themselves and if they're not around in a particular then that's tough. I think we should add it to the rules on the first post so there's no confusion.

Quote:

Originally Posted by WhoAmI? (Post 18135461)
Does every tournament have to have one winner? I mean in the case if there are 2 or more people with the same score are they all winners, or is there some tie-break method?

No there's no tie-break rule, joint winners are allowed. Maybe we could make up a tie-break rule but I don't think it matters too much in FITD.

WhoAmI? Jul 10th, 2010 06:25 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by watchdogfish (Post 18135621)
No there's no tie-break rule, joint winners are allowed. Maybe we could make up a tie-break rule but I don't think it matters too much in FITD.

Okay, thanks! I just couldn't find a rule about it, so it was better to ask. (I also think joint winners are fine;))

Turnip Jun 10th, 2011 03:35 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
In a Q1 vs. Q2 matchup, can player rank their qualifiers? I assume no, because I haven't seen this before.

http://www.tennisforum.com/showpost....&postcount=106

Edit: this is hypothetical

WhoAmI? Jun 10th, 2011 03:50 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
I'm no official here, but I've seen people do it this way before. I've done so before. And I think this kind of IF-clause has been accepted.

But on the other hand, if all the players (80+) do it, then it could be kind of difficult for the manager:unsure:

WhoAmI? Oct 12th, 2011 08:58 PM

Re: A Small Guide to Fill-in-the-Draw: Rules, FAQs, etc all in here! (Revised Dec 200
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kworb (Post 20353202)
Quote:

Originally Posted by WhoAmI? (Post 20353013)
someone else had the winner marked down as higher ranked q.

That's allowed??

Is that okay for qualifier vs qualifier match?

(At first I thought it was okay. But then if q vs q played in 2nd round too [slim chance, but there is one], and someone picked a higher ranked q, it wouldn't be fair).


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.