- Reply to Topic
Thread: Are Australia Out Of Contenton For Final Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
Jan 4th, 2006 12:18 AM
KimC&MariaSNo1's well its a good idea i think i just hope its fair to other countries aswell
Jan 3rd, 2006 02:44 PM
Fantastic The ITF wrote in a new rule this year stating that if a player from any nation withdraws due to injury, they can remain in contention if the replacement player is ranked lower than the originally invited player. Thus, Australia would've still been eligible for the final because Todd Reid was ranked significantly lower than Wayne Arthurs. Sadly, the Aussies lost to the Dutch tonight and are no longer in contention anyway.

In previous years (like last year for example) players who withdrew made their nation ineligible for the final. When Mark Philippoussis withdrew due to injury last year, Australia was no longer in contention for the final even though Paul Baccanello was able to replace him. The new rule took effect this year. I think it's a good thing but it doesn't really help other countries other than Australia because it would be difficult for players from, say, the US or a European country, to fly out within 24 hours to compete on an even keel with their opponents (unless they were already in Australia and had been knocked out of either Adelaide or Gold Coast qualifying).
Jan 3rd, 2006 10:47 AM
Are Australia Out Of Contenton For Final

seeing as Wayne Arthurs has withdrawn does that mean they can get to finals now or are they still able to. in the past when someone has withdrawn after first match they have not been in contention anymore.

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome