TennisForum.com - Reply to Topic
Thread: Is too big a deal being made about the incorrect score? Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
Jun 25th, 2004 04:31 PM
Helen Lawson You gotta learn how to roll with the punches. I know that Anna Magnani stuffed the Oscar ballots in her favor, I KNOW she did, but a classy dame like me just lets it go. Shit like that happens at the Oscars all the time, and recently also. The world's unfair, and that includes line calls in tennis matches.
Jun 25th, 2004 04:30 PM
chris whiteside
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwb196
100% wrong!

The "official" score was 8-6 to Sprem, Williams never made 7 points in the
breaker,the umps earlier mistake did not take a point away from her.

The only honest "what if the ump hadn't screwed up" scenario would have
Sprem leading 7-6 with her serve to come. In other words Williams is 3 points
away from winning the tie-break with Sprem serving at match point.

Who do you make favourite in that scenario?

Seems to me you are as confused as the ump adding non-existent points to
someones score

It's all totally hypothetical because the whole course of the tie break would have been different. Another point would have been played before they changed ends as the correct score was 4-1 not 4-2.
Jun 25th, 2004 04:26 PM
rwb196
Quote:
Originally Posted by tennnisfannn
This wasn't a line call but a point freely given. which means at 7/7 Venus already had the set won. Anything was possible after that.
100% wrong!

The "official" score was 8-6 to Sprem, Williams never made 7 points in the
breaker,the umps earlier mistake did not take a point away from her.

The only honest "what if the ump hadn't screwed up" scenario would have
Sprem leading 7-6 with her serve to come. In other words Williams is 3 points
away from winning the tie-break with Sprem serving at match point.

Who do you make favourite in that scenario?

Seems to me you are as confused as the ump adding non-existent points to
someones score
Jun 25th, 2004 04:17 PM
Tennisfan-Mtl
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenglisbe
Yes it was a bad mistake and Sprem got a point she shouldn't have. That's all fact. Still, is that ultimately any different than the bad call that was made in the 1st set that would have given Sprem 2 set points? Is it any different than Serena not getting another 1st serve in the SF of Roland Garros last year?

Umpires and lines people make mistakes all the time because, guess what, they're human!! Most matches have an incorrect call, an incorrect decision, etc. Why is this really any different?
Jun 25th, 2004 04:16 PM
Jericho
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenglisbe
Yes it was a bad mistake and Sprem got a point she shouldn't have. That's all fact. Still, is that ultimately any different than the bad call that was made in the 1st set that would have given Sprem 2 set points? Is it any different than Serena not getting another 1st serve in the SF of Roland Garros last year?

Umpires and lines people make mistakes all the time because, guess what, they're human!! Most matches have an incorrect call, an incorrect decision, etc. Why is this really any different?
Of course it is different...it was a tiebreaker in which every point is crucial...this wasnt some bad line call...Karolina didnt even have to strike a single ball to earn that point. After a bad line call, players either are mentally bothered or build from it...

Completely different.
Jun 25th, 2004 04:14 PM
adayinjune It is almost like a bad call. Truth is that had it been 3-1 (or whatever) you never know how each player would react psychologically. Truth is that Venus had set points which she lost, If anything she would have had to face a match point anyways
Jun 25th, 2004 03:46 PM
Foot_Fault
Quote:
Originally Posted by Princess Fiona
I really like Venus - I'm sorry she didn't win. It was the first time that I'd really seen Karolina - wow!! I am certainly going to follow her in the future... Anyway... *back on topic*

I feel sorry for Venus (for what happened in the tie-break) and this has also cast a shadow over the biggest win of Karolina's career. People do of course make mistakes though (I know all about mistake making... *blush* ) - I imagine the umpire is feeling awful and embarrassed about what has happened. And Karolina did have the bad call in the first set as has been stated...

<finish post>
I respect what you have said. But a Point in a game vs. a point in a Tie-break are totally different and the significance is much greater, thats the big deal.

I feel Venus played as well as she could've, but was to defensive yesterday. and got pretty tight on her opportunities. She was the one with everything to lose yesterday, so she played tighter...but in retrospect, they both played pretty well.
Jun 25th, 2004 03:45 PM
Peer101 The ESPEN people seem like they are going to kill themselves
Jun 25th, 2004 03:43 PM
Foot_Fault
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrogBurger
yes and no. it is a hugely embarrassing error. so it is a big deal in that respect. But one error does not make a tennis match. so to blame the loss on one error is silly.
I don't think ANYONE blamed the loss on that error, including Venus, Richard and myself.

Venus had set points in Both sets...It's sport, it happens, just wasn't her year.
Jun 25th, 2004 03:41 PM
tennnisfannn
Quote:
Originally Posted by jenglisbe
Yes it was a bad mistake and Sprem got a point she shouldn't have. That's all fact. Still, is that ultimately any different than the bad call that was made in the 1st set that would have given Sprem 2 set points? Is it any different than Serena not getting another 1st serve in the SF of Roland Garros last year?

Umpires and lines people make mistakes all the time because, guess what, they're human!! Most matches have an incorrect call, an incorrect decision, etc. Why is this really any different?
That was indeed a tough mistake to make esp in a tie break where every point counts. This wasn't a line call but a point freely given. which means at 7/7 Venus already had the set won. Anything was possible after that. But we will never know but that isn't the point.
And no this isn't similar to the SF at RG last year. This time it was the umpire at fault, at RG the umpire didn't see the hand and justine wasn't honest.
Jun 25th, 2004 03:08 PM
Princess Fiona I really like Venus - I'm sorry she didn't win. It was the first time that I'd really seen Karolina - wow!! I am certainly going to follow her in the future... Anyway... *back on topic*

I feel sorry for Venus (for what happened in the tie-break) and this has also cast a shadow over the biggest win of Karolina's career. People do of course make mistakes though (I know all about mistake making... *blush* ) - I imagine the umpire is feeling awful and embarrassed about what has happened. And Karolina did have the bad call in the first set as has been stated...

<finish post>
Jun 25th, 2004 03:03 PM
lizchris
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheesestix
Who is making about big deal out of it? Gee, I don't know, must've been the 1000+ threads about how Venus got robbed by the umpire?
The tournament did by telling the press they goofed, not this board.
Jun 25th, 2004 03:00 PM
cheesestix
Quote:
Originally Posted by bandabou
Who is making a big deal of it?! It is wimbledon itself who fired the guy. Venus didn´t complain, no one else complained... sho why is mr cheesetrix trying to act funny?!
Who is making about big deal out of it? Gee, I don't know, must've been the 1000+ threads about how Venus got robbed by the umpire?
Jun 25th, 2004 02:59 PM
"Sluggy" yes and no. it is a hugely embarrassing error. so it is a big deal in that respect. But one error does not make a tennis match. so to blame the loss on one error is silly.
Jun 25th, 2004 02:55 PM
bandabou Who is making a big deal of it?! It is wimbledon itself who fired the guy. Venus didn´t complain, no one else complained... sho why is mr cheesetrix trying to act funny?!
This thread has more than 15 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome