PDA

View Full Version : What was the old points system like?

Jippo McScally
Feb 12th, 2002, 07:29 PM
Can anyone tell me???

Bright Red
Feb 13th, 2002, 03:28 AM
I'm no expert on this. So take this info with more than one grain of salt.

There have been several different ranking systems in the past. Some were variations of the current system. They would, for example use a different number of minimum tournaments to calculate total rank points (18 tournies, 16 tournies, etc.) The rank points looked similar to what we see today with top ten players having in the thousands of points (Jennifer at 4,800)

Other ranking methods were fundamentally different. One method would take the total number of rank points and divide by the number of tournies played to get an average number of points. Under such a system, Jennifer (the #1 player) would have maybe 500 or so points.

I don't exactly know why the system has changed over time. I think I remember reading that the tour promoters wanted to get the players to play more. Hope this helps.

Linton
Feb 13th, 2002, 03:44 AM
Hey there Jippo if that is ure real name:fiery: go to sanexwtatour.com and look around in there!! tey have a very good info about rankings and it describes most of the systems there. good luck

Brian Stewart
Feb 13th, 2002, 02:08 PM