PDA

View Full Version : More commercial stupidity

Brian Stewart
Jul 15th, 2003, 09:05 AM
I've recently seen some TV commercials that make me wonder-- don't these people think at all when writing them?

One is that new Tampax commercial. I think the product is Tampax Pearl. The woman is at a party, and goes into the bathroom to change her tampon. She sets it on the window sill, in front of an open window, and (surprise!) it falls out. Then the woman has to go through the arduous task of retrieving it, because no other "regular" tampon will do.

Now, granted, I have no experience with the product in question, but I have to ask: would you set a tampon on a window sill in front of an open window? For that matter, would you change your tampon with the bathroom window and curtains wide open? (And if so, where do you live?)

Stupid commercial 2: Have you seen the new Arby's commercials with their new mascot "Oven Mitt"? Have you seen the one where he discovers he doesn't have a nose? So he puts on the fake Groucho nose and glasses. Then one of the workers asks him how the glasses are staying on if he doesn't have any ears. Cut to the front of the restaurant, where the customers and counter personnel are, as we hear his voice yelling from the back "I DON'T HAVE ANY EARS!"

Think about it. If you're in a restaurant that specializes in serving sliced meat, and you hear a voice screaming from the back that he doesn't have any ears, would you eat there? Wouldn't you start wondering about the content of the sandwiches?

Yet another commercial was animated. It was for a laxative. While a woman's voice told us about the effectiveness of the product, her animated counterpart was being tossed in the air repeatedly on a big blanket. Do you really want to be doing that to someone who just took a laxative? Particularly an effective, fast-acting laxative?