PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone hosted an exchange student, or been one?

ttaM
Jan 21st, 2003, 07:48 PM
I'm studying German this semester and might go to Germany for 4 weeks as an exchange student through my university. I would be going to Darmstadt, Germany. I've been to Munich twice, but only for 2 days each time. Can anyone tell me anything about being an exchange student or the city Darmstadt. :D

gentenaire
Jan 21st, 2003, 07:56 PM
We've hosted dozens of exchange students from all over the world. My eldest brother went to Australia for a year, my second to the USA for a year, my sister spent one year in Japan. I've done three short term exchanges, one to Australia, South Africa and Japan. I've only had good experiences. The students staying with us have all been wonderful as well, only one negative experience to report. I'll post some more about it later.

ttaM
Jan 21st, 2003, 08:04 PM
Ok. Thanks

gentenaire
Jan 21st, 2003, 08:10 PM
First things first: Go for it! It's a wonderful experience.

We've never had problems with any of the American exchange students. They felt comfortable pretty quicly. It's important that you see your host family as 'family' which means that if you help around the house (dishes, just do what the other kids do), you'll be greatly appreciated and you'll feel at home in no time. My host brothers and sisters were teasing me after a while, we were bickering and taunting eachother as if we'd known eachother our entire life! I felt it was wonderful.
Japanese students are quite different, after 6 weeks, they're still guests, they still don't dare ask for a glass of water. Americans OTOH generally take it from the fridge themselves right away ;) That's so much easier for the host family! I must confess we were surprised at how quickly the Americans made themselves at home, but we didn't mind, quite the contrary.