PDA

View Full Version : can someone teach me to serve???!

tyk101
Dec 22nd, 2002, 04:56 PM
I've been playing for about 4 years and my serve is still lame, my groundstrokes are pretty safe but because my serve is so bad, I find it hard to hold serve.

I do ace my opponents but I'm having trouble with transferring all my body weight into it, also my serve doesn't go very far back once it bounces, so can anyone help??????????????????????????

ktwtennis
Dec 22nd, 2002, 06:54 PM
Sounds like my problem too...

Wojtek
Dec 22nd, 2002, 06:58 PM
I have the same problem :fiery:

tonykwok19832002
Dec 22nd, 2002, 09:24 PM
i've used books and stuff.. but in the end I revert to the way my serve used to be. I haven't played in 3-4 months.. and my serve will prob be worse

matthias
Dec 22nd, 2002, 09:34 PM
i have the same problem
but i hope it will become better and better (like this season)

Katie
Dec 22nd, 2002, 09:40 PM
well, i tend to slice the ball alot, throwing the ball more towards the right, and then just tilting the head of the racket, and bending my legs....bending the legs is a very importnat part of the whole serve thing...Just have a safe serve,don't try and hit aces all the time..The main thing is to get the ball into court.......
What kind of shot do you use for your serve tyk101???a hard straight serve,slice,...etc???

http://www.geocities.com/worldwidetennis

croat123
Dec 22nd, 2002, 10:35 PM
try throwing the ball a bit in front of you and to the right (if you are a righty). transfer your weight forward as you go to swing the ball and try to get a lot of racket speed on it.

Pamela Shriver
Dec 22nd, 2002, 10:39 PM
Don't ask me. My last match at Wimbledon against Anke...that Ping pong serve is forever printed on my mind :o

joegerardi
Dec 23rd, 2002, 12:35 AM
The serve is comprised of 4 main parts:

1 - The toss.