PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another Travel Advice Thread

shap_half
Dec 24th, 2012, 05:32 PM
Hello, everyone!

So, I'm taking a 6-week sabbatical to travel around Europe in January and February. (I reckon it's not really a sabbatical as it's so short, and I'm a freelancer so I suppose I will try to get some work done during this stretch.) The trip's first two weeks have a bit of structure to it:

I'm going to be in Portugal for a few days to celebrate New Year; then I'll be headed to Zurich for another three or four days and then checking out either Basel or Lausanne before heading to Geneva and flying out from there. Here's where it's a complete free-for-all. As I really want to go to places I've never been to before (I've been to both Lisbon and Zurich) I'm looking into going to Budapest. I've been told that winter in Hungary can be quite challenging as it's very cold. I personally don't mind - I live in New York, and while our current situation is unseasonably warm, I'm accustomed to biting winter climate. And I found a super cheap ticket from Geneva to Budapest on the day I want to fly out. From there I think I want to go back to Tel Aviv and get a bit warmer weather for a week or so.

Anyway, none of these has been booked so I wanted to reach out to the well-traveled TF community for some feedback. I just know that I have to fly back from Paris to New York on February 13th so I can't really travel to like South Africa or Thailand. And some other destinations I'm considering include Belfast, Manchester, Valencia, Munich, Marseille -I've never been to any of these places. I've also thought about going to Sicily, but it's not the most accessible from all the other places on my list. I really, really want to go to Beirut, but again access is the issue here. And I am a bit concerned to go to the Middle East in general, which is why going back to Tel Aviv is also a bit of an uncertainty.