PDA

View Full Version : Advice Needed: Should I take this opportunity?

Sean.
Sep 1st, 2012, 05:55 PM
Iíve got a major decision to make & Iíd love to hear your advice and thoughts.

The history: I spent last summer volunteering on a predator reserve in South Africa. I absolutely had the time of my life; it was a beautiful place, right in the African wilderness, working with Cheetah, Leopard & Lion. I graduated from Uni this July, I did have a job lined up but that fell through (long story), so Iím now trying to work out what to do with my life.

The situation: I got an email this morning from the owner or the reserve I volunteered on offering me a fulltime job there, saying heís got a position available for me. I just donít know if this is the right direction for me to take right now.

The dilemma: I feel Iíve kind of reached the stage of my life where I seriously have to start thinking about the future, and making decisions with a long-term view. This job, although I'm not 100% sure what it would be specifically yet, would be amazing. I absolutely loved the time I spent out there last summer, it's really a stunning opportunity. I met some amazing people & I'd love to go back.

I guess the major reason for me considering this job is the amount of adults that have told me to live my life to the full while Iím young. Iíd hate to look back in 10/20 years, when Iíve got commitments and simply canít disappear off to Africa for a couple of years, and regret rushing into ďadultĒ life too fast, feeling that I didnít make the most of the opportunities I had. You know, Iím going to spend most of my life working, whatís the rush?