PDA

View Full Version : Will Peng Shuai break the top 10?

Potato
Aug 17th, 2011, 11:52 PM
This year, we've seen Petkovic, Bartoli, and Sharapova break back into the top 10 with the falling out of Serena, Venus, JJ, and Dementieva. Peng has little to defend for the rest of the year, and as we've seen so far, she has been making it deep into almost every single tournament she has entered this year.

This is last years results for Peng that she has to defend:
3R US Open
2R Tokyo (P5)
2r Beijing (PM)
W Taipei (100K)

I'm not good with ranking points, so mathematically is it very possible for Peng to break the top 10 this year? Or does she already have too many tournaments under her belt?

VeeJJ
Aug 17th, 2011, 11:53 PM
It's very possible. Didn't know she had a 3R at USO she has to at least defend that to have a very good shot. But I could see it happening.

SwingVolley93
Aug 17th, 2011, 11:56 PM
No, Radwanska has literally NO points to defend the rest of the year so she will sky rocket into the top 10. :oh:

Potato
Aug 18th, 2011, 12:00 AM
No, Radwanska has literally NO points to defend the rest of the year so she will sky rocket into the top 10. :oh:

She has a 3R at US Open too (where Peng beat her last year :oh:) and a QF in Tokyo. I think the points are pretty similar. Radwanska has been playing well though, I can see her breaking into the top 10 too. That number 10 spot I can imagine will be juggled around.

Alwaysfan
Aug 18th, 2011, 12:03 AM
u dream, baby..
NEVER another chinese player will be in the TOP 10

dsanders06
Aug 18th, 2011, 12:08 AM
I think so. I actually thought she'd make it by the US Open, but injury interrupted that unfortunately.

With that said, the top 9 are pulling quite a way ahead of the pack, so there's probably only one spot really up for grabs for the end of the year... I think Peng will overtake Petkovic and Stosur, but Radwanska might keep ahead.

18majors
Aug 18th, 2011, 12:16 AM
No.

Shvedbarilescu
Aug 18th, 2011, 12:18 AM