PDA

View Full Version : Do you think that Kvitova is really taking power tennis to the next level?

debopero
Jul 7th, 2011, 02:40 AM
Tracy Austin remarked that Kvitova was taking the ball-striking in women's tennis to the next level during the women's final.

With that thought in mind, I watched the final again with my eyes peeled for some revolutionary shots.

Thoughts?

tennisbum79
Jul 7th, 2011, 02:50 AM
No

Steven.
Jul 7th, 2011, 02:53 AM
In the middle of the first set, they showed that the average speed of Sharapova's ground-strokes were 68mph or so, while Kvitova's was in the high 70s. :help: As soon as I saw that, hope started fading away pretty rapidly.

Then again, I'm not good at estimating speed, so maybe it was a one off thing, or maybe Sharapova just didn't get a chance to do anything. :shrug:

justineheninfan
Jul 7th, 2011, 02:59 AM
Hardly. The Williams at their peck, heck even not at their peak, did it better, particularly when factoring in the serve.

Solitaire
Jul 7th, 2011, 03:07 AM
She doesn't seem to hit harder than the other big hitters. I think people like Tracey see Maria as the biggest hitter and when someone out plays her it must be because they hit harder.

tennisbum79
Jul 7th, 2011, 03:22 AM
Here is the previous level Tracy is talking about
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WUm-fr4jC78&feature=related

iPatty
Jul 7th, 2011, 03:38 AM

:lol:

I don't think she's doing anything revolutionary. There hasn't really been an elite lefty since Seles (and does she really count?) so maybe that makes it seem like she's hitting the ball a little bit differently than everybody else. I guess because I was a Schnyder fan, it's weird to see a lefty that absolutely pounds the ball hard and flat since Patty did absolutely none of that. Both styles are pleasing to the eye though.

serenaforever
Jul 7th, 2011, 03:39 AM
I dont think she's quite that impressive. :shrug:

Some seem to disagree though.

Solitaire
Jul 7th, 2011, 03:41 AM