PDA

View Full Version : Will Kim make YEC?

AcesHigh
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:25 PM
Kim is currently #8 in the race with Schiavone right on her tail and Petkovic not too far behind.

doooma6816
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:27 PM
I voted yes...but it depends on her ankle...

backhandsmash
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:30 PM
Yes, she will. If she doesn't get injured again.

justineheninfan
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:38 PM
Yes she will. She wont be outperformed by people like Schiavone on hard courts even if she plays only 3 events and Schiavone plays 8. She might skip it though as I doubt it even interests her that much.

dsanders06
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:39 PM
Depends if her injury heals quickly. If it does, I see her doing extremely well over the summer and making the cut. I mean, I'm not an expert on the rankings, but last year, she did pretty much f-all for the first six months of the year aside from winning Miami... then the summer hardcourt season came along, she started doing well and she comfortably made the YEC. This year, she's had a similar first six months, except winning the Australian Open obviously gives her a lot more points than Miami...

Ferg
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:42 PM
I think the top 8 will stay as it is...

valac222
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:42 PM
As far as I know slam champions are qualified irrespecive of their standings. So yes she is already in.

Stonerpova
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:53 PM
As far as I know slam champions are qualified irrespecive of their standings. So yes she is already in.

I think only in the ATP. I'm pretty sure their policy is that if you win a slam and you're ranked in the top 20 you get in. At least that's how it was a few years back. The women are different. Serena won the Australian in 05 and finished 11th in the rankings, failing to qualify. I think if Kim does well over the summer she will (which depends on her drive and her injury). We all know she won't play in the fall.

dsanders06
Jul 6th, 2011, 06:54 PM