View Full Version : onthebaseline.com WTA 2008 Awards

Jan 3rd, 2009, 05:48 PM
Popular Tennis onthebaseline.com (http://www.onthebaseline.com/2009/01/01/the-2008-baseline-award-winners/) site announce theirs visitors choice about WTA 2008 season:

List of 2008 Baseline Award Winners

First Place Trophy Player of the Year - Jelena Jankovic
Jelena Jankovic beat Maria Sharapova, Venus and Serena Williams, Ana Ivanovic and a host of write-in candidates to win the Player of the Year award. During the past season, Jankovic reached her first Grand Slam final at the US Open and won more matches on
POLL's Final Results:
Jelena Jankovic - 30.73%
Serena Williams - 20.09%
Ana Ivanovic - 18.45%
Venus Williams - 14.45%
Maria Sharapova - 9.36%
Write-in Candidates - 6.91%

First Place Trophy Doubles Team of the Year - Cara Black and Liezel Huber
It was a no-contest in the doubles team of the year category as top ranked stars Cara Black and Liezel Huber trounced the rest of the field by capturing 60% of the voting total. On court, Black and Huber were equally as dominant in 2008 and won ten titles

First Place Trophy Most Improved Player of the Year - Dinara Safina
Dinara Safina played her best season to date, winning Tour singles titles at the Qatar Telecom German Open, the East West Bank Classic presented by Herbalife, the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank and the Toray Pan Pacific Open. She reached her first

First Place Trophy Newcomer of the Year - Caroline Wozniacki
The year 2008 was a breakthrough season for Denmark’s Caroline Wozniacki, highlighted by her first three Tour singles titles at Stockholm, New Haven and Tokyo [Japan Open]. The eighteen-year-old is the first Danish woman ever to win a Tour singles title.

First Place Trophy Fan Favorite of the Year - Ana Ivanovic
Charming both on and off court, Ana Ivanovic was not surprisingly named Fan Favorite of the Year. The congenial Serbian has a loyal following worldwide, all of whom were pleased to see Ivanovic win her first major and ascend to the number one ranking in 2

First Place Trophy Humanitarian of the Year - Ana Ivanovic
Despite playing eighteen tournaments in 2008, Ana Ivanovic took time out for charity and humanitarian work. The twenty-one year old French Open champion is a UNICEF National Ambassador to Serbia and was nominated by the US State Department for its 2008 In

First Place Trophy Best Grand Slam Singles Final of the Year - Venus Williams d. Serena Williams at Wimbledon
Venus Williams won her fifth Wimbledon Trophy at the 2008 Championships, but it did not come easy. Facing her in the final was one of her toughest competitors—and her best friend. In their sixteenth career meeting, Venus defeated her sister Serena 7-5, 6

First Place Trophy Best Non-Grand Slam Singles Final of the Year - Serena Williams d. Jelena Jankovic at Miami
Serena Williams won her fifth career title at the Sony Ericsson Open in April after an epic 6-1, 5-7, 6-3 final against Jelena Jankovic.

First Place Trophy Biggest Upset of 2008 - Julie Coin (d. top seed Ana Ivanovic at the US Open)
No. 188 Julie Coin, playing in her first career main draw on the Sony Ericsson WTA Tour, became the lowest-ranked player in history to beat a reigning No.1 by ousting Ana Ivanovic in the second round of the US Open.

First Place Trophy Most Emotional Moment of 2008 - Justine Henin’s Retirement
On May 14 reigning world number one Justine Henin stunned the tennis world by announcing her immediate retirement from professional tennis. Henin, winner of 41 Sony Ericsson WTA Tour singles titles – including seven Grand Slam championships – was currentl

First Place Trophy Best USA Television Coverage - Tennis Channel
Tennis Channel has the most concentrated single-sport coverage in television, with telecast rights to the Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon, US Open, Olympus US Open Series, Fed Cup by BNP Paribas and many other WTA Tour events.

First Place Trophy Best USA Television Commentator - John McEnroe
John McEnroe, winner of 77 singles and 78 doubles titles on the ATP Tour, continues to achieve success as a television commentator in the United States. His unique style, coupled with his first-hand knowledge of the game, continues to make him a fan favor

First Place Trophy Best Tennis Writer - Bud Collins
Bud Collins, one of the most recognizable and respected tennis journalists in the world, was voted by fans as Best Tennis Writer for the second consecutive year.

First Place Trophy Best Tennis Website - SonyEricssonWTATour.com
The Sony Ericsson WTA Tour website continues to be the premier online destination for news, scores, pictures and videos about professional women’s tennis. Online live streaming of Tour finals debuted in 2008.

First Place Trophy Best Tennis Blog - Sony Ericsson WTA Tour Player Blogs
The Sony Ericsson WTA Tour’s official player blogs remained a hit during the 2008 season as fans enjoyed the online journals of some of tennis’ biggest stars including Jelena Jankovic, Ana Ivanovic and Liezel Huber.

First Place Trophy Best Official Player Website - AnaIvanovic.com
Ana Ivanovic’s official website is the best source online for news about the Serbian tennis star. AnaIvanovic.com is arguably one of the most popular official websites of any female athlete.

Jan 3rd, 2009, 05:55 PM

Jan 3rd, 2009, 06:06 PM

Jan 3rd, 2009, 06:15 PM
Good choices except for all the awards Ana got.

Jan 3rd, 2009, 06:17 PM

First Place Trophy Player of the Year

The Daviator
Jan 3rd, 2009, 06:24 PM
Adored by the public, fearless activist and campaigner, and leader and pioneer in web communications, that's Ana :hearts:

The Dawntreader
Jan 3rd, 2009, 06:27 PM
Adored by the public, fearless activist and campaigner, and leader and pioneer in web communications, that's Ana :hearts:


oh dear...