PDA

View Full Version : Taking tennis lessons...need advice

Reuchlin
Aug 2nd, 2007, 02:44 AM
Anyhoo, I only have enough money to pay for 4 1 hour tennis lessons with a local instructor. I guess you can say I'm a 5.0 player but haven't taken lessons in about 10 years-- so I do have some holes in my game and really have room to improve everything. How should I approach my lessons/what should I expect from my instructor and get the most out of my hard earned money?

delicatecutter
Aug 2nd, 2007, 02:48 AM
I'd try to focus on volleying. I'm self-taught but that was definitely the hardest part for me to learn to even do decently.

Reuchlin
Aug 2nd, 2007, 03:57 AM
bump!

schorsch
Aug 2nd, 2007, 03:58 AM
4 lessons wont get you far. why dont you just train with in a group of 2 or 4 ?

tenn_ace
Aug 2nd, 2007, 04:03 AM
I'd try to focus on volleying. I'm self-taught but that was definitely the hardest part for me to learn to even do decently.

5.0 player should have volleys.

Start with playing real points, like 4 games or so and your pro (if he is good) will figure out quickly what you need to refresh the most.

Reuchlin
Aug 2nd, 2007, 04:19 AM
4 lessons wont get you far. why dont you just train with in a group of 2 or 4 ?

Because it's hard (where I live) to find 2 or 4 players who are at my skill level.

Reuchlin
Aug 2nd, 2007, 04:20 AM
5.0 player should have volleys.

Start with playing real points, like 4 games or so and your pro (if he is good) will figure out quickly what you need to refresh the most.

I do have volleys.

delicatecutter
Aug 2nd, 2007, 04:42 AM
Brain-fart. If you're 5.0, shouldn't you realize what areas of your game need work?

In any case, I wish you the best of luck! I haven't been able to play tennis since the turn of the century. I recently got tennis elbow just from errantly swinging my tennis racket around my apt.

Reuchlin
Aug 2nd, 2007, 01:49 PM
bump

V-MAC
Aug 2nd, 2007, 01:52 PM