PDA

View Full Version : Remember this wacky Acura Match? ... 2002 Sugiyama def. Hantuchova 64 16 75


tennisIlove09
Aug 1st, 2007, 07:33 PM
Hantuchova timed out

http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38170000/jpg/_38170157_dan300.jpg Hantuchova was bemused by the umpire's decision


Daniela Hantuchova made a bizarre exit from the Acura Classic in San Diego on Wednesday when she received a time violation on match point against Ai Sugiyama.
The Slovakian felt she had the second round match "taken away" from her, as umpire Denis Overberg stuck rigidly by WTA rules to give Japan's number one a 6-4 1-6 7-5 victory.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/shared/img/greyquoteleft.gif
It was definitely unfair to finish such a great match like this http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/shared/img/greyquoteright.gif
Daniela Hantuchova

Hantuchova, the seventh seed, received a warning for a time violation in the second game of the third set before being given a point penalty in the 11th game.
A desperately close contest had been in progress for two-hours and 13 minutes when Hantuchova served at 5-6 and match point down in the final set.
But WTA rules state that a player must start the next point 20 seconds after the previous point has been completed, and Overberg gave the Slovak another point penalty to hand Sugiyama victory.
"I was playing the same way I always do," said Hantuchova. "I never had time violations before.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38170000/jpg/_38170155_overberg150.jpg Umpire Overberg was the centre of attention


"I was not stalling for time deliberately, I was just thinking about what to do on the court.
"I've never heard of this. I felt that I could have won, but somebody came and took the match away from me.
"It was a great match and to have it end like that is really disappointing. But there is nothing that I can do now.
"It was definitely unfair to finish such a great match like this."
Sugiyama admitted she had not been expecting to win in such an unusual manner.
"I was very surprised the way the match ended," she said.
"It's true she was taking a long time in between points. I didn't want to win that way. It's the umpire's decision. "It's tough to lose a match like that, but she was taking a little bit more time than normal."

Beny
Aug 1st, 2007, 07:59 PM
I remember that :D
It's ridiculous that the call was made on MP too...but fair on the other hand.
I think the rule should be more severe..or following the rule should be more severe.
Sometimes, some players take much longer time between the points and there is no punishment while Daniela had to pay hard for it.. :shrug:

tenn_ace
Aug 1st, 2007, 08:02 PM
rules are rules. if she (or anyone else) thought that time violation shouldn't have been called on MP, they should submit thier proposal to ITF.

PS. She had plenty of warning to be more careful.

PPS. But the match was good.

The Dawntreader
Aug 1st, 2007, 09:13 PM
The rules are there and players have their alloted time too. Even though it was on match-point, it's still any other point and violations still count.

Was bizarre though. Daniela learnt from that though, she's hardly Pierce-esque between points anymore:lol:

DefyingGravity
Aug 1st, 2007, 09:25 PM
I just wish that they'd pull that on Nadal or some of the men sometimes. Nadal and Djokovic take FOREVER. Mary Pierce too...granted, sometimes it's not right to take the player out of their comfort zone.

Europe rocks
Aug 1st, 2007, 10:30 PM
Surely there are players out there much worse than what Dani was with their timekeeping