PDA

View Full Version : Question about Computer Hardware...


ZeroSOFInfinity
Apr 13th, 2007, 04:24 PM
Currently I'm running on the following:-

Intel Pentium 4 Processor (D915PCY) with ATX, 800/533 MHz FSB, PCI Express x16 Graphics and Dual Channel DDR 533 / 400 MHz Memory Support (with four slots, dual channel - 4 GIG max)
Intel Pentium 4 Processor 506 - 2.66 GHz, 533 MHz FSB and 1 MB L2 cache
512MB RAM
40Gig HDD x2 (Total = 80Gig)I was thinking of buying another 512MB RAM and 80Gig HDD, and if necessary, another 1Gig RAM. The final slot is for a 2Gig RAM in the future.

My question is whether the upgrade was necessary? I can play games, but it's a bit lagged and sometimes take a while to load. I was thinking that 1Gig should be enough, but another 1Gig would make it more faster. And on the HDD, I wanted it because I download lots of movies and install many games inside, and at times I have to delete much of them just to accomodate a new one in.

Can anyone advice me on this matter? And if the answer is yes, what brand should I go for? Thanks! :wavey:

Sally Struthers
Apr 13th, 2007, 04:37 PM
upgrade the ram to 2 GB and get a new graphics card. Get two 1 GB sticks of ram so you can take advantage of dual channel

eck
Apr 13th, 2007, 04:38 PM
What's your graphics card? You can get 2gb ram, but I think the most important for gaming is Graphics Card
I think you can sell your current 512MB and add a few more bucks to get 1GB in Low Yat. I think it's possible. I changed mine in Megamall (Laptop) (This is in KL :p). Yea HDD's OK for a movie person. I have 3 removable HDDs
HDD wise, you should either get Maxtor, Seagate or Western D

ZeroSOFInfinity
Apr 13th, 2007, 05:08 PM
My Graphics Card is Nvida GE Force 7300GT... which is quite new I think.

Sally Struthers
Apr 13th, 2007, 05:15 PM
My Graphics Card is Nvida GE Force 7300GT... which is quite new I think.

that's a budget level video card. You should upgrade it (to geforce 7800, 7900, or higher series)and the ram.

ZeroSOFInfinity
Apr 13th, 2007, 05:18 PM
Yeah... but I bought it just 6 months ago... kinda waste isn't it?

If I don't change the graphics card, just only the RAM, will it affect anything? Or it would perform better?

Sally Struthers
Apr 13th, 2007, 05:34 PM
what kind of games are you playing?

ZeroSOFInfinity
Apr 13th, 2007, 05:47 PM
I am now currently playing Battle For Middle Earth and also Command and Conquer 3. I want to play Supreme Commander... but I am afraid my com can't support it...

Sally Struthers
Apr 13th, 2007, 06:13 PM
You defintiely need more ram and a new video card. I'd get the ram first. You can just get 512 MB to boost you up to 1 GB.