From the hard to believe category, Elena Dementieva served 2 games in a row today in her loss to Clarissa Fernandez! :eek: Clarissa had taken a bathroom break. And Elena served again when she returned. Fernandez and the Chair Umpire didn't pick up on it. It was an accident. And with Elena's suspect serve, it wasn't necessary, because the serve is her achilles heel as a tennis player.
That is just amazing. Isn't it? ;)
Jun 2nd, 2002, 10:56 PM
yes cat we were talking about it when the match was going on.
Elena probably didnt say anything cos serving 1st is normally an advantage.
Clarisa probably felt it was easier to break.
Elena is the one who should have got this corrected, she received 1st and broken could have made a big diff.
Now we will never know.
This also happened in the ATP final in 2001 Milan.
Boutter got robbed and he paid the price, and Federer won his 1st title
Jun 2nd, 2002, 11:36 PM
Unbelievable. Never heard of it happening before. :wavey:
Jun 3rd, 2002, 12:26 AM
Eggy, you make it sound so matter of fact! :confused: The CNNSI report said Elena unwittingly did this. Are you saying she did it on purpose?
Jun 3rd, 2002, 07:18 AM
We will never know, no one asked Clarisa in the press conference about it either i think