PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else excited about the drama?

Pinkie
Jul 6th, 2006, 07:20 PM
Mauresmo-Justine, starting where they left off in January?

I, for one, always like it when there is a bit of drama before the match, the things that make a match anticipated for reasons other than than the level of tennis expected. Like the tension before a Kim-Justine match, or an all Williams match-up.

Justine's retiring during the AO final caused such emotions and heated arguments at the time. And at least for Momo, things are not yet completely in the past. There was the interview she gave to SI a few days ago (posted here) with these quotes:
"I knew she got some criticism," Mauresmo, the world No. 1, said after her 6-3, 6-4 win over Ana Ivanovic on Monday. "As a journalist I probably would have done the same." Once, Mauresmo and Henin-Hardenne were good friends. Asked if they were still friends now, Mauresmo said, "No, I cannot." Asked if Henin-Hardenne's withdrawal had affected their relationship, Mauresmo said, "It did. It did. I had a lot of respect for the champion she is and all that's she's achieved. But I don't feel this behavior is a champion's behavior. Unless you injure yourself and you cannot, like Kim [who retired with an injury from their Australian semifinal] a couple days before, I don't think it's the way to behave on the court. Especially since, I think the first thing she said in the press conference was, 'Well, I couldn't win the match anyway.' So you have to think: Did you pull out because you felt you could not win because of the way you were feeling? Or was it because ... you know. There's still that question."

Let the games begin :bounce:

SharapovaFan16
Jul 6th, 2006, 07:21 PM
wipe the floor Momo wipe the floor

manu32
Jul 6th, 2006, 07:23 PM
where is the drama????

Pinkie
Jul 6th, 2006, 07:38 PM
where is the drama????