PDA

View Full Version : Psychology Undergrads

JackWalker
Jun 11th, 2006, 08:38 PM
I am an undergraduate at a university of california majoring in psychology. i am going to be a junior in a few months and wanted some advice. i am stressing about what field to branch out on and all the steps it would take to get there. i want a field where i can interact with people, i can set my own hours, it is somehting i enjoy to do, and can make a good salary. can someone offer me some advice. i have lately been thinking about io psyhology (industrial) because it seems to fit my goals. thanks

controlfreak
Jun 12th, 2006, 12:50 AM
what about sports psychology... seeing as you registered on a tennis site...

JackWalker
Jun 12th, 2006, 04:41 AM
sports psychology seems awesome but i think patients would be far and few between right? i mean, you can ONLY work with professional athletes

Reuchlin
Jun 12th, 2006, 04:52 AM
sports psychology seems awesome but i think patients would be far and few between right? i mean, you can ONLY work with professional athletes
I think that if you were a sport psychologist, you wouldn't JUST be a sport psychologist. And with regards to your clients: there are plenty of amateur/jr athletes that use sports psychologists.

JackWalker
Jun 12th, 2006, 05:03 AM
well yeah, any type of psychologist has to have the basics of human psychology down. what i meant by the patient thing was that in industrial psychology you work with companies for a certain amount of time and therefore have a patient for a certain amount of time which results in high and guranteed high compensation.

besides in io i think you could do your reports at home, no?

TF Chipmunk
Jun 12th, 2006, 07:07 AM
You're at a UC? Which one? :)

Nicjac
Jun 12th, 2006, 08:36 AM
Well, try work and organizational psychology.

Lots of interaction, good opportunities to work as a freelancer, also good salary if employed.