Jun 11th, 2006, 05:56 AM
"With the temperature in the 80s, and spectators flapping hand fans like metronomes across the stands, the match began in the oddest of ways. On the second point, Henin-Hardenne botched a volley, then told the chair umpire the ball was deflated. He agreed, and informed Kuznetsova the point would be replayed. Kuznetsova cried out, "Why?" and argued. When action resumed, the Russian eventually lost the game thanks to all of those poor forehands and a double-fault."
:haha: :haha: :haha:
Those who saw the match... did that really happened??
Jun 11th, 2006, 05:57 AM
yep and Kuzzy stuck her hand out in the middle of the point to say the ball was dead and then argued with the chair umpire for about a minute!
Jun 11th, 2006, 08:51 AM
The commentators said there's this rule that says if the ball is only deflated the point counts, if the ball is broken the point is replayed. So probably the ball was more than deflated.
Jun 11th, 2006, 09:06 AM
Sveta wanted the point to end cause of it, but then she won the point and argued with the chair umpire to be given the point :rolls:
Jun 11th, 2006, 09:51 AM
Kuzy won the replayed point though...but ended up losing the game :(
Jun 11th, 2006, 11:55 AM
That's the second time it happened between Justine-Sveta, last time was in Dubai-final 2004