PDA

View Full Version : Trivia: Find the answer and win 200 vcash


borisy
May 27th, 2006, 06:53 PM
I'll donate 200 vcash to the first person who answers this question right:

------------------

Player A faces Player B in a WTA singles match (up to 3 sets).

Player A wins.

NA = number of points won by Player A at the end of the match.

NB = number of points won by Player B at the end of the match.

NB > NA

if D = NB - NA;

what can be the maximum value of D?

--------------

post your answer here (only one answer per member)

Carmen Mairena
May 27th, 2006, 06:55 PM
D can be infinite as they can be in a deuce game forever!

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 06:56 PM
D can be infinite as they can be in a deuce game forever!

wrong. we're looking at the difference.

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 06:59 PM
48?

wrong

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 06:59 PM
46 maybe. :unsure:

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:01 PM
58 sorry ;)

you've already replied so i'm not saying whether your second guess is right.

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:01 PM
No wait, maybe it's 44 :unsure: :lol:

I'm sure it's 44. :yeah:

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
46 maybe. :unsure:

wrong.

katiektc
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
24?

I'm rubbish at maths lol ;)

mike/topgun
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
47

Quack
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
58 indeed

turt
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
you've already replied so i'm not saying whether your second guess is right.
But it was a typo :sad:

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
No wait, maybe it's 44 :unsure: :lol:

you've already replied so i'm not saying whether your second guess is right.

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:02 PM
with a 0-6 7-6 7-6 or 7-6 0-6 7-6 it's 34 points I think

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:03 PM
24?

I'm rubbish at maths lol ;)

wrong

Drake1980
May 27th, 2006, 07:03 PM
58

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:03 PM
47

wrong

WhatTheDeuce
May 27th, 2006, 07:03 PM
20? :shrug:

I can't figure this out. Please explain once someone gets it. :p

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:04 PM
58 indeed

wrong

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:04 PM
with a 0-6 7-6 7-6 or 7-6 0-6 7-6 it's 34 points I think

wrong

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:04 PM
20? :shrug:

I can't figure this out. Please explain once someone gets it. :p

wrong

Quack
May 27th, 2006, 07:04 PM
58 indeed
2 sets winnin 6-0 (makes the difference 48 points, the other set tiebreak (winning your games on love, losing games with 30 points, and then losing the tiebreak with 7-5 for example)

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:05 PM
2 sets winnin 6-0 (makes the difference 48 points, the other set tiebreak (winning your games on love, losing games with 30 points, and then losing the tiebreak with 7-5 for example)

wrong and you've already replied once.

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:05 PM
24+24+24-12-12-2-2=44
If the score is 0-6 7-6 7-6 :shrug:

But I was wrong on my first one. :(

turt
May 27th, 2006, 07:06 PM
Well it must be 58...

6-0 7-6 (5) 6-0
+24 in the first set and the third
+10 in the second...

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:06 PM
24+24+24-12-12-2-2=44
If the score is 0-6 7-6 7-6 :shrug:

But I was wrong on my first one. :(

:( you've sabotaged it!

RR-87
May 27th, 2006, 07:07 PM
23 :unsure:

Carmen Mairena
May 27th, 2006, 07:07 PM
This is nonsense as the loser can win as many points as the winner! And what about an infinite deuce game?

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:07 PM
20? :shrug:

I can't figure this out. Please explain once someone gets it. :pwell if you consider A wins 0-6 7-6 7-6:

1st set: B wins all the points: 6*4=24
2nd set: B has only love games: 6*4=24 and A wins her serve at 40-30 so that's -(6*2)=-12
and in the tie-break: -2
so it's +24 (1st set) +24 -12 -2 (2n set) +24 -12 -2 (3rd set)= 44
I missed the 3rd set in my previous answer :p

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:07 PM
This is nonsense as the loser can win as many points as the winner! And what about an infinite deuce game?
It's about the difference...points even themselves out in deuce games.

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:08 PM
24+24+24-12-12-2-2=44
If the score is 0-6 7-6 7-6 :shrug:

But I was wrong on my first one. :(yeah me too, I didn't count the 3rd set :lol:

willrock
May 27th, 2006, 07:08 PM
It 44 i'm 100% sure :lol:
Poor Slokid :hug:

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:08 PM
well if you consider A wins 0-6 7-6 7-6:

1st set: B wins all the points: 6*4=24
2nd set: B has only love games: 6*4=24 and A wins her serve at 40-30 so that's -(6*2)=-12
and in the tie-break: -2
so it's +24 (1st set) +24 -12 -2 (2n set) +24 -12 -2 (3rd set)= 44
I missed the 3rd set in my previous answer :p
I got it first Mr. Numbers :p

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:08 PM
It 44 i'm 100% sure :lol:
Poor Slokid :hug:
It don't need vCash ;)

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:09 PM
:( you've sabotaged it!it was not that difficult :p

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:09 PM
44 is right but Slokid sabotaged it. I wrote the rules clearly in my first message. So noone wins anything. I'll find another question to give this 200 vcash.

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:09 PM
yeah me too, I didn't count the 3rd set :lol:
I didn't take off the 2 points that are the difference in the second tb the first time.

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:10 PM
I got it first Mr. Numbers :p2 minutes earlier, cause your post was shorter :lol: ;)

willrock
May 27th, 2006, 07:10 PM
Slokid should be given the vcash he said the right answer first!

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:10 PM
:banana: I sabotaged it :banana:

WhatTheDeuce
May 27th, 2006, 07:10 PM
:banana: I sabotaged it :banana:
:haha: Nice job on the answer.

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:11 PM
I didn't take off the 2 points that are the difference in the second tb the first time.then it was a bigger mistake than mine :p :lol:

Quack
May 27th, 2006, 07:11 PM
well if you consider A wins 0-6 7-6 7-6:

1st set: B wins all the points: 6*4=24
2nd set: B has only love games: 6*4=24 and A wins her serve at 40-30 so that's -(6*2)=-12
and in the tie-break: -2
so far I agree, but the third can he win with 6-0...
thus: 24+24-12-2+24=58

:wavey:

damnit, A wins...

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:12 PM
I gave 50 vcash to Slokid for his flawed answer.

Quack
May 27th, 2006, 07:12 PM
-edit

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:12 PM
so far I agree, but the third can he win with 6-0...
thus: 24+24-12-2+24=58

:wavey:

loser wins more points, not the winner!

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:12 PM
so far I agree, but the third can he win with 6-0...
thus: 24+24-12-2+24=58

:wavey:
He loses in the end. ;)

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:13 PM
I gave 50 vcash to Slokid for his flawed answer.
:lol:
Thanks, but you didn't have to.

Quack
May 27th, 2006, 07:13 PM
Yeah, I edited my post, saw it too late...

borisy
May 27th, 2006, 07:14 PM
From your avatar it seems like you need vcash and i don't use vcash so not a big deal :hug:

Ceze
May 27th, 2006, 07:15 PM
From your avatar it seems like you need vcash and i don't use vcash so not a big deal :hug::haha: he has like 100k in the bank, I don't think he really needs it ;) (neither do I btw :p )

SloKid
May 27th, 2006, 07:31 PM
From your avatar it seems like you need vcash and i don't use vcash so not a big deal :hug:
Thanks :hug:

My avatar is a bit of a joke though ;)
Although I did recieve some offers. :lol:

And yeah I have some in the vBank, with these Pro Shop rules and what not :rolleyes:

mike/topgun
May 27th, 2006, 08:15 PM
eventually I can't read:eek: