PDA

View Full Version : Silvia Farina Elia's retirement article

twight6
Oct 27th, 2005, 11:21 PM
This article is from www.wtatour.com and its about Silvia Farina Elia retiring:
(BTW, if someone has already posted this, just let me know and i'll delete this thread! :wavey: )

Farina Elia Retires from Professional Tennis
October 26, 2005

"I really didn't expect to be ranked this high when I started out... I have to give all the credit to my husband for his love and support, especially for the last five or six years. He's the reason I started playing better towards the end of my career. He pushed me and helped me reach that level. Without him I couldn't have done it."

http://www.wtatour.com/global/photos_rx/Farina_8301_rx.jpg
© Getty Images

HASSELT, Belgium - One of the Sony Ericsson WTA Tour's most enduring veterans has called it a career, just days after Magdalena Maleeva did the same, as Silvia Farina Elia officially retired from professional tennis in Hasselt on Monday, shaking hands at the net one last time with young Belgian Kirsten Flipkens. Similar to Maleeva, Farina Elia began her career in the late 1980s and was a contender well into the new millenium, but unlike last week's retiree, the Italian did not hit her stride until almost 10 years after her professional debut, making her one of the true late bloomers in the history of the women's game.

Farina Elia was born in 1972 in the northern Italian city of Milan, as one of three children to Carlo and Alda Farina, who both worked as insurance agents. She was introduced to tennis when she was 10-years-old by her mother, a recreational player herself, and immediately began showing promise. Her evident talent for the game and hard work ethic spawned many successes in the juniors, and at 16-years-old she embarked upon what would become a successful 17-year run as a professional.