PDA

View Full Version : AntiVirus software for Mac....


PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:01 AM
I don't want to risk not having any anti-virus software for the Mac. Any recommendations? I've heard Norton causes more problems on the Mac than it's worth....

!!!--Duiz™--!!!
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:06 AM
Mac barely gets any viruses....

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:06 AM
Yeah I know that...but I'm still paranoid!

!!!--Duiz™--!!!
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:17 AM
If you don't want to get any viruses... just don't go to places like porn sites or ads sites... and don't download e-mails on your computer... that is it...

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:21 AM
... just don't go to places like porn sites

My secret is out!
;)

Yeah I'm just majorly paranoid about viruses, and I'm convinced I'll be unlucky. Better to be safe than sorry. Just wondered about using ClamXav.

!!!--Duiz™--!!!
Oct 5th, 2005, 08:38 AM
My secret is out!
;)

Yeah I'm just majorly paranoid about viruses, and I'm convinced I'll be unlucky. Better to be safe than sorry. Just wondered about using ClamXav.

Pornography is not worth it...:rolleyes:

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 09:10 AM
Pornography is not worth it...:rolleyes:

Lol I was joking about the porn sites ;)

Cersei
Oct 5th, 2005, 11:20 AM
I have Norton and haven't had any problems :scratch:

Wigglytuff
Oct 5th, 2005, 02:00 PM
I don't want to risk not having any anti-virus software for the Mac. Any recommendations? I've heard Norton causes more problems on the Mac than it's worth....

dude dont waste your money.

just turn your built in firewall on, and update regularly.

in the year + that i have had my mac i dont think anyone has written and spread a single mac virus, and its not likely to happen because of the nature of virus and virus writers.

Wigglytuff
Oct 5th, 2005, 02:07 PM
Yeah I know that...but I'm still paranoid!
you are stressing yourself out for no reason.

i go to porn sites maybe 2-4 hours a week, every week. never had a problem.

anyway, if you really that paraniod (its really not healthy), the ONLY anti-virus i would recommend is the one that comes bundled with dot mac. every thing else is more likely to break your computer, than help it.

http://www.mac.com/

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 06:16 PM
Lol ok thanks, looks like I need to chill out ;)

Now, if only I could actually get the Mac to recognise the PC network....!!!! ;)

Rocketta
Oct 5th, 2005, 06:29 PM
Thanks for asking this question because I was wondering...

I've run the ClamXav and it was fine...it doesn't run in the background or anything.

How do you cut the firewall on? :scratch:

Rocketta
Oct 5th, 2005, 06:30 PM
Lol ok thanks, looks like I need to chill out ;)

Now, if only I could actually get the Mac to recognise the PC network....!!!! ;)

when I plug my laptop into the network at work...I've haven't had any problems with it recognizing the network and navigating it.

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 06:37 PM
when I plug my laptop into the network at work...I've haven't had any problems with it recognizing the network and navigating it.

I have no clue to networks though ;) It recognises the network <I think> but can't connect to the internet.

Rocketta
Oct 5th, 2005, 06:51 PM
I have no clue to networks though ;) It recognises the network <I think> but can't connect to the internet.

well I'm the last person to ask. :lol: I'm a new born babe when it comes to Macs. :D

!<blocparty>!
Oct 5th, 2005, 07:11 PM
I have no clue to networks though ;) It recognises the network <I think> but can't connect to the internet.

I've had all sorts of problems with thesre. Many trips to the fucking genius bar thats like two hours away have been necessary :sad:

It works now, but I have to run the networks diagnostics everytime i start up for the first time. You're not by any chance using a Wanadoo Livebox are you? :lol:

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 07:27 PM
well I'm the last person to ask. :lol: I'm a new born babe when it comes to Macs. :D

;)
I'm not new to Macs but I aint got a clue to pesky networks!

I've had all sorts of problems with thesre. Many trips to the fucking genius bar thats like two hours away have been necessary :sad:

It works now, but I have to run the networks diagnostics everytime i start up for the first time. You're not by any chance using a Wanadoo Livebox are you? :lol:

Heh no I'm not.....why do you recommend it?? ;) ;)

This is slightly annoying now............just slightly lol

!<blocparty>!
Oct 5th, 2005, 09:53 PM
NO i do not recommend it :lol: It's really hard to get working. Although, I would be able to help you out now :lol:

It pissed me off no end, spending so much money and it doesn't work.

PamShriverRockz
Oct 5th, 2005, 11:09 PM
NO i do not recommend it :lol: It's really hard to get working. Although, I would be able to help you out now :lol:

It pissed me off no end, spending so much money and it doesn't work.

Ouch I can believe it!
Well I've spent ages now trying to get the Mac online but it won't behave! I'm probably doing something very obviously wrong....It can see the network STILL. But it won't connect to the internet................