PDA

View Full Version : My interview with Jelena Jankovic

matija-seles
Sep 26th, 2005, 06:15 PM
‘I am very grateful that I am doing this job.’

Serbian No. 1, who just reached the Birmingham final last week, Jelena Jankovic has been interviewed by Inside-Tennis.Net prior to her Hastings Direct International tournament appearance. We were glad to speak about Jeca’s tennis, on and off court attitude as well as her personality. What has been quite amazing for us is how her success didn’t change her character and how she still is one of the nicest players on tour. We wish, this shy 20 year old, best of luck in the future!

I-T.Net: When did you start playing tennis and when you started to feel you are going to be a professional player?

J.J: I started playing tennis when I was nine and a half years old. I started competing in tournaments because I really enjoyed playing tennis. I didn’t think of tennis as of my job back then. My parents introduced me to that sport so that I would have something to do after school.

I-T.Net: Is there any coach that helped you game the most? Can you point out someone who had the most influence on you?

J.J: I had a lot of coaches in the past and I wouldn’t like to choose just one. I have to admit, that every coach I had, taught me something and improved my game, so I really can’t point out just one person.

I-T.Net: How would you describe your style of play? What’s your favorite surface?

J.J: My favorite surface is hard-court. I would describe myself as an aggressive baseliner who tries to attack every ball from the ground.

I-T.Net: It seems that lately you tried to be even more aggressive. Is it true?

J.J: Yeah, I try to be even more aggressive, to improve my serving in order to get some free points of serve and to dictate the play.

I-T.Net: In Berlin semifinal you played really aggressively for one and a half set and also in the third. However you played defensive tennis for a long period in the second set…