View Full Version : Official Nominations for Asia/Oceania Zone Groups I and II

Apr 15th, 2005, 04:08 AM
Official nominations for the Asia/Oceania Zone Groups I and II events to be held in New Delhi, India, week commencing April 18.

Asia/Oceania Zone Group I

Samantha Stosur
Sophie Ferguson
Evie Dominikovic
Bryanne Stewart
Mr John Alexander (Captain)

China P.R.
Na Li
Jie Zheng
Tian-Tian Sun
Ting Li
Hong-Wei Jiang (Captain)

Chinese Taipei
Yi Chen
Hsiao-Han Chao
Yen-Hua Lu
Ya-Fang Tsai
Miss Tzu-Ting Weng (Captain)

Sania Mirza
Shikha Uberoi
Rushmi Chakravarthi
Ankita Bhambri
Mr Enrico Piperno (Captain)

Mariya Kovaleva
Tatyana Ignatchenko
Ekaterina Morozova
Mr Valeriy Kovalyov (Captain)

Korea Rep.
Yoon-Jeong Cho
Jin-Hee Kim
Kyung-Mi Chang
Mi-Ok Kim
Mr Jin Soo Lee (Captain)

New Zealand
Marina Erakovic
Leanne Baker
Paula Marama
Eden Marama
Ms Pavlina Nola (Captain)

Wei Ping Lee
Yun-Ling "Cassandra" Ng
Shao Fang Ong
Mr Sun Gin Alex Chew (Captain)

Asia/Oceania Zone Group II

Czarina-Mae Arevalo
Anja-Vanessa Peter
Denise Dy
Mr Chris Cuarto (Captain)

Hazar Sidki
Shaza Tinawi
Nivin Kezbari
Farah Dayoub
Ms Fadia Elias (Captain)

Almira Hallyeva
Ummarahmat Alisultanova
Inna Gavrilenko
Ms Jenneta Hallyeva (Captain)

Akgul Amanmuradova
Ivanna Israilova
Dilyara Saidkhodjaeva
Vlada Ekshibarova
Mr Samuk Abidov (Captain)

Apr 15th, 2005, 07:30 AM
NZ Fed Cup team set for battle
http://images.tvnz.co.nz/tvnz_site_images/shim.gif (javascript:window.print())http://images.tvnz.co.nz/tvnz_site_images/shim.gif (javascript:void(0))http://images.tvnz.co.nz/tvnz_site_images/shim.gif (javascript:void(0))Related Articles http://images.tvnz.co.nz/tvnz_site_images/shim.gif
NZ youngsters going strong
(http://tvnz.co.nz/view/sport_story_skin/479813?format=html)Sharapova opts out of Fed Cup
(http://tvnz.co.nz/view/sport_story_skin/485700?format=html)Erakovic hits career high

Apr 15, 2005
The New Zealand Fed Cup tennis team leaves on Saturday to play the Asia/Oceania Fed Cup Zone Group I competition in New Delhi facing plenty of competition from some highly regarded nations.

The New Zealand team is Marina Erakovic, Leanne Baker, Paula Marama, Eden Marama and non-playing captain, Pavlina Nola.

The nations playing in the 20-23 April teams tournament are China, Australia, India, Korea, New Zealand, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, and Singapore.

India have a strong side with some fast improving players however their star Sania Mirza, who is ranked inside the top 100, is said to be out with an ankle injury.

The next best Indian player is Shikha Uberoi who is still listed as an American and is ranked at 139. New Zealand has never lost to India in the three occasions they have played.

The Australian team is likely to use world No 52 Samantha Stosur and Evie Dominikovic (111) as its singles players.

China have called up two top 100 players in Na Li (42) and Jie Zheng (70), however New Zealand beat them last year. Korea have Yoon Jeong Cho at 87 a former finalist at the ASB Classic in their team.

New Zealand made the promotion playoffs last year and will be aiming to knock off more top ranked players and teams this time too.

The competition will be played in two groups of four and then round robin play deciding the top nations.

All of the eight nations in the competition will be aiming for the two promotion places into World Group II in 2006

source One sport

Apr 15th, 2005, 12:23 PM
I think China should be able to kick some butt...

Apr 15th, 2005, 12:24 PM
Go Na, Jie, Ting and Tiantian! :D :kiss:

Apr 15th, 2005, 03:19 PM
China, Australia and India have a good chance..
also Uzbekistan in Zone II..

Apr 15th, 2005, 03:26 PM
Chinese Taipei without Yung Jan and Wei Hsin :shrug:

Singapore :unsure: Do your best I supposed.

Apr 15th, 2005, 03:27 PM
Go China :banana: So this is where Tian Tian's been hiding... would still prefer her to get a few tournaments under her belt before RG though.
Chinese Taipei... where's Chan Yung Jan, Chuang Chia Jung, Chan Chin Wei etc?? This is an unecessarily weak team! Hope they don't get relegated...

Apr 15th, 2005, 03:28 PM
Mirza is not injured? :confused:

Big clash between China, Australia and India (if Mirza plays..)

Apr 15th, 2005, 03:28 PM
Good luck also to Philippines and Singapore :D

Apr 15th, 2005, 04:08 PM
I think China and India will be in... :D

the jamierbelyea
Apr 15th, 2005, 08:39 PM
Sania is only on the roster so India could get a seeding based on her ranking, as far as I've read she will not be competing

Apr 16th, 2005, 12:06 PM
Yoon-Jeong and Mi-Ok will not play Fed Cup.. They are injured..
Ye-Ra Lee and Jin-A Lee replaced them..

China is too strong..;;

Apr 16th, 2005, 12:26 PM
Yoon Jeong and Ye Ra would make a great team. But go Ye-Ra :yeah:

Anyone knows why Chia Jung, Wei-Chin or Yun Jang not playing for Taipei?

Apr 16th, 2005, 01:55 PM
No Beier Ko for Singapore? I don't suspect she ever played Fed Cup for Canada, so I didn't think she'd have to have the weaiting period.

Apr 16th, 2005, 05:00 PM
Yoon-Jeong is injured again??? What kind of injury??? GO YE-RA!

Apr 17th, 2005, 02:32 AM
Yoon-Jeong is injured again??? What kind of injury??? GO YE-RA!

Back injury.. :(
But it's not serious and she's getting better now..

Apr 17th, 2005, 09:00 AM
Anyone knows why Chia Jung, Wei-Chin or Yun Jang not playing for Taipei?

Chia-Jung is injured, Chin-Wei doesn't feel like playing..
Yung-Jan and Wen-Hsin have local competition to play..

Though if they want to play, it should not be a problem..

Apr 18th, 2005, 07:35 AM
go singapore!:o just try not to get bagelled:o