PDA

View Full Version : What Jenny needs to work on (imo)..

vw43
Apr 1st, 2002, 08:30 PM
I don't get to watch nearly as much tennis as I would like to so I'm no expert. However, after watching Jen's match against Serena I thought she may be able to improve on a few things in preparation for defending her RG title.

SERVE

Although her serve has not been breaking down as much, it is also not the weapon it could be. With Jen's power, I think she should be serving more aces ala Lindsay Davenport. This would obviously help her hold her serve and give her some easy points if needed.

Concentration

Jen seems to lose focus after winning a few points in a row or after breaking her opponents serve. In her match against Serena she would break Serena and then immediately fall 0-30 on her own serve. She needs to keep her concentration consistent throughout the match. She should be so focused on tennis that she just mentally blocks out the cell phones, flashes...lol.

Variety

I like when Jen mixes up her pace a little more. She likes to bait the opponents with a few slower balls or slices to get them off rhythm and then burn them with a sizzler. I noticed Serena doing that more to Jen then the other way around. Also, go up to the net now and then. Even if you don't win the point at least your not allowing your opponent to get into a rhythm.

Any other ideas? There's not too much to complain about in Cap's game but there is always room for improvement. I would love to see her defend her RG title.

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

veryborednow
Apr 1st, 2002, 08:35 PM
Go to Jenns Denn, I've explained posting pics there :)

she just mentally blocks out the cell phones, flashes.

easier said than done, though. The anger she generates from cell phones may help her in a match. I'm not sure....

SassyMolassy
Apr 1st, 2002, 08:37 PM
...HER WEIGHT!

vw43
Apr 1st, 2002, 08:38 PM
lol..I think she's one of the few that does do better when she's angry...