PDA

View Full Version : Breakin' (aka Breakdance) anyone like this movie?

Evelyn Tremble
Jan 4th, 2005, 05:35 PM
Does anyone have this movie in their DVD collection? I bought it today when out shopping, I couldn’t believe it was made 20 years ago, my has time flown.
Anyway in case you don’t know, here’s what it’s about.

Breakin’ revolves around Kelly, a young lady who aspires to be a dancer and is working her way through dance school to make it happen. However, she soon becomes tired of the stuffy, boring styles of dancing taught at the school. When a friend introduces her to the local break dancing scene, she realizes she has found her calling as a dancer.
Kelly befriends ‘Ozone and Turbo’, two of the best street dancers on the scene, and is renamed ‘Special K’. Together, the trio takes on the established dance world by using a big time dance competition as a chance to show the dance school teachers that their self taught moves are just as graceful and vital to the dance world as anything the school could teach.
This groundbreaking movie remains a one of the most popular movies of the 1980’s and thanks to a whole host of classic tunes and unforgettably dance scenes this movie has become legendary.:D

kiwifan
Jan 4th, 2005, 08:10 PM
"Like" is a bit strong for a movie like Breakin'

It was a cheesy Hollywood exploitation flick.

That said it was funny as hell, but it was no Wildstyle, not even worthy of Beat Street really. :cool:

It's greatest legacy as a film is the oft mocked title of its sequel, "Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo". Now most bad sequels are referred to with that ending, for example, "I hear the studios are releasing, Starship Troopers 2: Electric Boogaloo, straight to video."

Dava
Jan 4th, 2005, 08:13 PM
This is the one Save The Last Dance is a copy of right??? No I havent seen it but Andre off the board was telling me about it.

Rocketta
Jan 4th, 2005, 11:16 PM
I don't think Save the Last Dance is a copy? :confused: