PDA

View Full Version : Kylie Minogue hoping to release jazz album as her next release

MLF
Nov 18th, 2004, 09:11 PM
Apparently Kylie wants to do a set of jazz standards once she's finished with the promo of 'Ultimate Kylie' and the Greatest Hits tour.

In Australia's Herald Sun today, Kylie admits to having recorded some jazz standards and to considering moving into a more 'mature' area of the music industry following the end of the current greatest hits project.Following rumours a few months ago of the release of a jazz album next year, Kylie tells writer Cameron Adams:

"I've done some different jazz and cabaret recordings, which I know sounds terrible when you say it . . ."

She previewed her jazz flirtations at a party for fashion label Chloe in Paris, performing cover songs including Peel Me a Grape.

Pushed, she admits to wanting to take an extended break, but not retire.

"I don't think I would retire from pop. I honestly don't know. I'm not good at projecting the future. There are a lot more pressing matters in the meantime, but when I reach that stage, that's what inspires me: the unknown. What will I do?

"But I enjoyed (jazz) and it is the most unlikely thing for me to do, but when I did it, it was received really well. And because it's so unlikely, it worked."

Kylie recorded a handful of jazz standards to see how they went.

"I had no intention of talking about it but they are done, just as demos. A lot of research has to go into recording any of those standards and in the process of doing that I felt really challenged, really inspired and, surprisingly, some songs I thought would suit me didn't and others I thought 'Hmm' worked really well.