PDA

View Full Version : Somewhere OVA the rainbow....

tennischick
Mar 14th, 2002, 01:39 AM
SOMEWHERE OVA THE RAINBOW

Tulyaganova, Hantuchova have dreams of No. 1

http://www.********************/tr.net_photos_art/Hantuchova_cl_iw_02.jpg

By Matthew Cronin

They are more than a mouthful when it comes to English speakers pronouncing their names, but both Uzbekistan's Iroda Tulyaganova and Slovakia's Daniela Hantuchova believe that their main strengths don't involve tongue twisters, but in the completeness of their games and how that might take them to the top.

But that's not to say that chair umpires and commentators aren't going have a difficult time uttering "Tuly's" name this year.

"When I started playing it was so funny, " said Tulyaganova, who ended last year ranked No. 20 and won two titles. "They say a name and I was like, 'Who am I?' Especially in the U.S., you say you're from Uzbekistan and they say, Pakistan? But at least they don't say Afghanistan."

Not surprisingly, Tulyaganova is by far the best player in her nation's history. While her home city of Tashkent is obsessed with tennis (it hosts both men's and women's tournaments), it has yet to produce a phalanx of Tuly clones buffed up all courters with a tremendous amount of variety and a longshoreman's work ethic.

"I worked very hard," said the 21-year-old Tulyaganova, a cheerful, funny extrovert. "Before I worked hard but there were days when I wanted to go out or doing something else. If my coach asked me to go biking, I would say, 'Not 30 minutes, only 20 minutes.' But once I grew up, I started to think of being a pro and being No. 1, so I had to work hard. Last year, I wanted to get to top 30 but I didn't think I could get top 20 or make it to the [Sanex] WTA Championships. I was really surprised."