PDA

View Full Version : Any Julie Halard news?

Halardfan
Feb 11th, 2004, 02:10 PM
Don't suppose those who keep who keep up to date with French tennis stuff have heard any news of Julie HD over recent months? Its been well over a year since Ive heard even scraps of info...anyone heard even the slightest bit of JHD gossip in that time? Perhaps the French tennis mags might have mentioned the great one?

I need my yearly JHD fix! :) ;)

lauryn
Feb 11th, 2004, 02:15 PM
http://www.opengazdefrance.com/accueil/story_129111.shtml

Halardfan
Feb 11th, 2004, 02:24 PM
Many thanks! :) I don't speak French so I ran it through the BabelFish thing...which gives out a kind of weird half-English...

Could anyone who does speak French give me the gist of the piece?

lauryn
Feb 11th, 2004, 03:36 PM
Julie, not knowing you that well, could you give us a short summary of your career?
I started playing at age 7. I played for 15 years on the WTA tour and retired at the end of 2000. I won about ten tournaments, can't really remember which ones exactly. I won the Open Gaz de France in 1996. I won Eastbourne and about ten others. I was number one in doubles with Ai Sugiyama with whome I won the US Open in 2000.

What was your best ranking in singles?
I reached number 7 at the beginning of 2000.

How are your daughters doing?
Camille (two years today) and little Ines (7 months) are doing really well but they aren't playing tennis yet.

What's your prognosis for the match between Dechy and Pierce?
Good question...I can't really give a prognosis, cause Mary hasn't played since Fed Cup. Nathalie has the advantage, she started the year well. Matches between two French players are always tough.

In your opinion, who's the best player right now?