PDA

View Full Version : Elena Bovina, Australian Open champion

goldenlox
Feb 1st, 2004, 07:17 PM
MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) -- Elena Bovina and Nenad Zimonjic, teaming for the first time, defeated defending champions Martina Navratilova and Leander Paes on Sunday to win the Australian Open mixed doubles title.

Russian right-hander Bovina and Zimonjic, from Serbia-Montenegro, ended Navratilova's hopes of a 10th Grand Slam mixed doubles title with a 6-1, 7-6 (3) center-court victory in 1 hour, 9 minutes.

Navratilova, seeded fourth with Paes, has said she will retire from tournament play at the end of the year.

Bovina, a mixed doubles finalist at the French Open in 2002, was thrilled with their breakthrough Grand Slam triumph.

``When I was a junior my coach made us bury all the trophies for second and third place,'' the 20-year-old Bovina said. ``I really wanted to keep this one today, so I really tried.

``It's just great to get a trophy. Doesn't matter if it's singles, doubles, mixed doubles. It's first place, it's fantastic for me.''

She said it was the first time she and Zimonjic had teamed together, and ``I think we did pretty good.''

Zimonjic, 27, said he had left a note with WTA Tour officials before the tournament seeking a partner, and that Bovina had responded.

``I'd like to thank you guys for finding a great partner for me,'' he said.

auntie janie
Feb 2nd, 2004, 12:14 AM
Congrats, Elena! Very nice for you! :bounce:

That trophy-burying thing is a bit chilling, though! :eek:

Doc
Feb 2nd, 2004, 12:55 AM
Great win Lena! :bounce:

Playing so much better in Doubles at the AO in a scratch pairing!

Keep it up. :D

goldenlox
Feb 2nd, 2004, 01:32 AM
At the US Open, Lena and Rennae Stubbs reached the quarters, where they lost to Paola and Vivi.
I was surprised that Lena didn't enter the women's doubles. But it worked out great. Lena's first major.