PDA

View Full Version : Question: Can we still have an all-Belgian SEMI-final?


Filip!
Nov 8th, 2003, 06:43 PM
Dunno, Henin is leading in her group now, but is she the winner of her group already or is this still not sure?

Josh
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:14 PM
She's the winner of her group because she has beaten both Nastya and Jenn so they can't overtake her anymore.

Filip!
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:17 PM
She's the winner of her group because she has beaten both Nastya and Jenn so they can't overtake her anymore.

Oh that's great, I wasn't sure about that! Thanks!

pReUrBrIyN
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:21 PM
Actually I think that if Myskina beats Jennifer in straight sets,

and Sugiyama beats Justine in straight Sets Myskina will be No. 1 in the group

AjdeNate!
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:22 PM
Actually I think that if Myskina beats Jennifer in straight sets,

and Sugiyama beats Justine in straight Sets Myskina will be No. 1 in the group
If that happens they go by the H2H first, and Juju beat Nastya.

"Topaz"
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:40 PM
Let's see:
http://www.staplescenter.com/images/wtachamps_standings.jpg

I think Myskina still has a chance to win the Black Group. Here's what it's needed:

- she beats JenCap with 2-0 sets, leading to-------------> 2/1 - 5/2 (matches w/l - sets w/l)
- JHH loses to AI, with at best 1-2 sets, leading to-------> 2/1 - 5/3

Josh
Nov 8th, 2003, 07:51 PM
Let's see:
http://www.staplescenter.com/images/wtachamps_standings.jpg

I think Myskina still has a chance to win the Black Group. Here's what it's needed:

- she beats JenCap with 2-0 sets, leading to-------------> 2/1 - 5/2 (matches w/l - sets w/l)
- JHH loses to AI, with at best 1-2 sets, leading to-------> 2/1 - 5/3

No because the Head to head is what counts first and since Nastya lost to Justine she can't overtake her, even with a better sets or games record.

"Topaz"
Nov 8th, 2003, 08:14 PM
No because the Head to head is what counts first and since Nastya lost to Justine she can't overtake her, even with a better sets or games record.Fair enough! Could you, by any chance, post the link to the YEC rules? Thanks.

Filip!
Nov 8th, 2003, 08:26 PM
That was the reason why I posted the question. I didn't knew what was more important: the H2H are the number of lost/won sets. But I know it now, the H2H is more important. It's the right rule, I think.

GoDominique
Nov 8th, 2003, 08:47 PM
H2H counts first. Ask TheBoiledEgg, he has the rules.

AjdeNate!
Nov 8th, 2003, 08:58 PM
The final standings of each group shall be determined by the first of the following methods that
apply:
a. Greatest number of wins
b. Greatest number of matches played
c. Head-to-head results from the Round Robin if only two (2) Players are tied, or if three (3)
players are tied, then:
i) If three (3) Players have one win, a Player having played fewer than all three (3)
matches is automatically eliminated and the Player advancing to the Single
elimination competition is the winner of the match-up of the two (2) players tied
with 1-2 records; or
ii) Highest percentage of sets won; or
iii) Highest percentage of games won.



http://www.wtatour.com/assets/story_pdf/WTAChamps03supp.pdf

Hurley
Nov 8th, 2003, 11:35 PM
Right, so since Jenn and Nastya are now 1-1, there can only be two players tied at the top: Justine and the winner of Nastya/Jenn.

Therefore, placement is determined by H2H, and Justine beat both Nastya and Jenn. So Justine has won her group even if she loses to Sugiyama.

Therefore, Kim and Justine cannot play until the final, since Kim has won her group as well.